My general Fongo review / feedback

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

My general Fongo review / feedback

Postby p_giguere1 » 08/19/2016

I've been using Fongo with my data-only iPhone for 5 months now. In short, I'd say the service gives you a lot for the price. But is has more to do with how cheap it is than how good it is. In fact, I don't think the service is that good. The feature set is pretty complete, but the execution of just about everything feel pretty subpar. It's really hard to blame Fongo however, because the whole thing costs nothing or near-nothing and is ad-supported. Clearly they can't have a very high development budget.

Overall I'm more satisified with a regular cell phone service. However, the monthly fees are not even close. I don't think traditional service is worth paying several times more every month so I stick with Fongo. However, I'd gladly pay more than what I currently pay for Fongo if the overall experience was better. I feel like there's currently a gap in the market for people who want something cheaper than regular service but aren't that cheap either and would gladly pay more for a service that feels more polished, modern, and reliable.

Here's what I'd improve with Fongo:
  • Have a pretty, modern design. The website, app and this forum all feel like they belong to at least 5 years ago and have been designed by programmers rather than real designers. This can be a turn-off from the start as it suggests that the service might be unmaintained / on its way out. People (rightly) associate apps with poor design with buggy apps.