can i use Fongo on my phone ?

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

can i use Fongo on my phone ?

Postby travv » 03/10/2017

I am new to the mobile phone stuff, and I have a few questions. I am in Halifax, I am a senior, and i just got a Nokia Lumia mobile phone. It is unlocked and I never have used it. It doesn't have a SIM card in it. I would like to use the phone for free local calls. Can i use it with Fongo? If so, how? I have Bell Aliant internet, if that makes any difference. If i can use the phone , do i just use in my place or when I am outside? Thank you for any advice.
travv
Just Passing Thru

SIP Device Name: nokia lumnia
Computer OS: windows 10

Re: can i use Fongo on my phone ?

Postby bridonca » 03/10/2017

Sadly, Fongo does not have a client that supports Lumia phones, so you need to get another phone if you want to use Fongo. The Fongo client only supports Android and Apple phones. If you wanted to make free phone calls with your Lumia phone, you would need to install a SIP client on your Lumia phone, and you would have to get SIP settings from Fongo's sister site, freephoneline.ca Sadly, it is not cheap, freephoneline SIP settings cost $80, but once you pay that, you will never have to pay another phone bill again, and you can use those SIP settings for any other SIP device. A popular use for SIP settings is to use them on a SIP device, which allows you to use a regular landline telephone with your internet connection. Gear like that costs about $50 if you get it on sale. Again, once you make those purchases, there are no more costs when it comes to making most phone calls and receiving all calls.

When you have a phone that is compatible with Fongo, or get SIP settings from freephoneline, as long as you have a decent internet connection, you can make free phone calls. If you have a cell phone plan that uses data, you can also use that for calls.
bridonca
Technical Support

SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V