2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pete_fpl » 05/12/2017

Sorry if this is a noob question :)

I have home phone setup, ata adapter next to the router in the living room, but I'd like to setup a second line in a bedroom which is far enough from the ata adapter so a wired connection isn't possible. Is there a way to get connected wireless without having to buy another adapter for that room using a network hub? I know I could buy a multi-headset, have the base unit next to the adapter, and the additional unit in the room, but that seems excessive, I'd rather just have a single cordless phone unit.
User avatar
pete_fpl
Active Poster
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 06/22/2010
SIP Device Name: Cisco PAP2T
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Fibrestream
Router: D-Link DIR-601 N 150

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby Jake » 05/12/2017

With a cordless phone the base unit will always have to be next to the ATA really, unless you run a cable to put it further away.

If you just want to connect more than one different type phone to your ATA, then you can plug in a jack splitter (https://www.walmart.com/c/ep/telephone-line-splitters) and play around with different phone setups.
Of course this won't do you any good if you are going to be buying another unlock key for Line 2 though.

At the end of the day, the easiest way to get a phone in a remote location from the ATA will be with a wireless phone system. Anything else is just going to be overkill IMO.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pete_fpl » 05/12/2017

Jake wrote:With a cordless phone the base unit will always have to be next to the ATA really, unless you run a cable to put it further away.

If you just want to connect more than one different type phone to your ATA, then you can plug in a jack splitter (https://www.walmart.com/c/ep/telephone-line-splitters) and play around with different phone setups.
Of course this won't do you any good if you are going to be buying another unlock key for Line 2 though.

At the end of the day, the easiest way to get a phone in a remote location from the ATA will be with a wireless phone system. Anything else is just going to be overkill IMO.

I was hoping there'd be a device or gadget I could buy to do the job, guess I'm stuck to either buying another ata or using a multi unit phone. A cordless phone that connects wirelessly to an ata, one can dream I guess.

The splitter I have, but I want 2nd number in that bedroom, not the current number I have, so I will be buying another unlock key, that's the plan.
User avatar
pete_fpl
Active Poster
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 06/22/2010
SIP Device Name: Cisco PAP2T
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Fibrestream
Router: D-Link DIR-601 N 150

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby mh1983 » 05/13/2017

If you're willing to look into a device/gadget to do this, why not go with a multi-headset with a base unit?
mh1983
Lightly Seasoned
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 01/14/2014
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT-701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Teksavvy Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 64 bit
Router: Linksys WRT N600 on DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: BlackBerry Q10

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby Fongo Support » 05/14/2017

mh1983 wrote:If you're willing to look into a device/gadget to do this, why not go with a multi-headset with a base unit?

Hi,

You mean something like this?

http://www.factorydirect.ca/Canada-/Tel ... 70120792/0

Regards,
User avatar
Fongo Support
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: 01/01/2013

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby mh1983 » 05/14/2017

Fongo Support wrote:
mh1983 wrote:If you're willing to look into a device/gadget to do this, why not go with a multi-headset with a base unit?

Hi,

You mean something like this?

http://www.factorydirect.ca/Canada-/Tel ... 70120792/0

Regards,


Exactly! I was confused by why the OP felt a multi-headset cordless system is excessive, yet was looking for an extra device/gadget to be able to accomplish having another phone in a different room.
mh1983
Lightly Seasoned
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 01/14/2014
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT-701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Teksavvy Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 64 bit
Router: Linksys WRT N600 on DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: BlackBerry Q10

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pete_fpl » 05/14/2017

mh1983 wrote:Exactly! I was confused by why the OP felt a multi-headset cordless system is excessive, yet was looking for an extra device/gadget to be able to accomplish having another phone in a different room.

Maybe excessive was a poor word :) I just meant if there was a way to have a single cordless phone unit in the bedroom without an extra unit next to the ata which I'd never use, especially with the answering machine needing to be at the ata adapter (yes I know you can use it remotely).
User avatar
pete_fpl
Active Poster
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 06/22/2010
SIP Device Name: Cisco PAP2T
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Fibrestream
Router: D-Link DIR-601 N 150

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/14/2017

Is there an existing phone jack in the bedroom? If so, setup second FPL number on Line 2. Connect Line 2's phone port to your house (you may need to disconnect your Telco company's line at the demarc--or make sure power from it is not running to your existing phone jacks. Otherwise, you run this risk of frying your ATA):
http://forums.redflagdeals.com/newegg-o ... #p27069896.
Then plug any phone into the existing phone jack in bedroom.

Alternatively, you can look into something like https://www.amazon.ca/Phonex-PX-211D-Wi ... B000MRN0LM.
However, I don't recommend them. Connectivity can start to fail after awhile, and that'll never be as dependable as a wired connection
(or even a DECT 6.0 wireless phone system).
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pennguo » 06/22/2017

pennguo
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2017
SIP Device Name: Cisco

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pennguo » 06/22/2017

pennguo
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2017
SIP Device Name: Cisco

Re: 2nd line in different room, wireless. How?

Postby pennguo » 06/22/2017

pete_fpl wrote:
mh1983 wrote:Exactly! I was confused by why the OP felt a multi-headset cordless system is excessive, yet was looking for an extra device/gadget to be able to accomplish having another phone in a different room.

Maybe excessive was a poor word :) I just meant if there was a way to have a single cordless phone unit in the bedroom without an extra unit next to the ata which I'd never use, especially with the answering machine needing to be at the ata adapter (yes I know you can use it remotely).


try to use bluetooth cordless phone

https://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-KX-TH1 ... B00138FPY4
pennguo
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/22/2017
SIP Device Name: Cisco


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests