Should this number be free?

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby TheHardy » 09/14/2012

Bringing up an old "thistle" in my side ...

The "Complete Country" cost list for Canada is woefully out of date... http://www.fongo.com/completeList?country=CANADA

Many of the areas (in particularly Jonquiere and Chicoutimi QC) in this list are rated at $0.02, whereas plugging individual #'s into the RateLookUp tool rates them as $0.00 (free).

I thought that we had already dealt with requesting that the country lists be updated on a somewhat automatic schedule to prevent these issues from occurring?
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby FONGO_mike » 09/17/2012

Hi Hardy,

They are listed as $0.02 as many are not free to call in the area. Even some of the areas that have some free numbers, have a larger number that are not free.
From previous posts and calls that we have received, it may have been deemed by those who make these choices, to be wiser to warn people they may be paying for call (distinct possibility in those areas) and then they turn around and it is free (Always a win when you get something for free you thought you had to pay for)
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby TheHardy » 10/21/2012

You missed the point of what I stated, that's okay though, as the whole "faulty-tariff" thing just needs a major rework anyways. I see the point that you are making, Mike, but that is not the issue that I brought up.

In a larger sense too, it draws back to the whole concept of the "free-hub-cities" and the traditional local calling areas of those vs the Fongo-model where it only covers handpicked cities/ratecentres. And even though this has been explained as such, it is still completely ILLOGICAL to me (and others) that have any kind of background knowledge of how telco systems work. Yes, it is Fongo's sandbox to make the rules/rates as they chose, but the industry-wide logic behind it is baffling, to say the least.

On a different, but related tangent, I also think that the 4c/call connection fee needs to be more prominently placed in any of the rate quotation locations on the web, as that is often overlooked, and if it is just in extremely small fine print at the bottom, it can be viewed by some as "sneaking it in" or not fully disclosing it (not my words -- it is there, just not eye-poppingly, or if you do not know to look for it!).
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby manual scan » 10/22/2012

Your list of cities in Quebec does not include the area served by Telus in the 418 area code...Like Rimouski, Mont Joli, Sept-iles. etc.

Please have a look see what u can do. Otherwise, my magicjack will whip you guys silly.

Enjoy
Gerry
schn2143@gmail.com
manual scan
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 07/29/2012
SIP Device Name: HT 502
ISP Name: velcom.ca
Computer OS: WIN 7
Router: TP-Link 8960

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby TheHardy » 10/23/2012

manual scan wrote:Your list of cities in Quebec does not include the area served by Telus in the 418 area code...Like Rimouski, Mont Joli, Sept-iles. etc.

Please have a look see what u can do. Otherwise, my magicjack will whip you guys silly.


As 'MJ' is an entirely different set up, and charges an annual fee, it is able to provide lower cost (free) service to a larger host of cities than Fongo CURRENTLY.

There are some cities in 418, which while not in the officially free list are covered... however, the 3 that you stated in your example, are indeed, NOT-free at $0.02/min.

Fongo has stated that there is expansion on the horizon ... one target area would definitely be Rimouski, but whether that will be done on this round or not is up to higher powers. Phrasing your request a little less adversarial may yield you better requests if you wish to do so.
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Jake » 11/22/2012

613-408-XXXX (Assigned Ottawa-Hull)

It is obviously a new exchange, but it is in service because I had to call one of these numbers last night but got the 'insufficient' message.

Please add this in, thanks.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2700
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby FONGO_neil » 11/23/2012

Thanks for the heads up. I've passed this along for correction.
Neil
Escalation Support Specialist
Dell Voice Powered By: Fongo
Toll free customer service number: 1-866-515-5550
For urgent issues resulting in service downtime, always call support before PMing us!
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_neil
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 05/14/2012
Computer OS: Windows 8
Router: Linksys EA4500
Smartphone Model: iPhone 5

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby pmj » 11/25/2012

Just registered with freephoneline.ca in Ottawa. My number is (343)-882-####.
Outgoing calls are working, and correctly displaying the above number.

Cannot receive incoming calls:
Calling from our POTS line, the message is "Your balance is insufficient...." - which is not a valid error for that line.
UPDATE 2012-11-26 13:15 - I can now call in from (work) POTS. Still no change when calling from Dell Voice.
Calling from Dell Voice on Android, as I dial the number, at 343 882 I see No Rate Found, when I add the next digit it shows $0.02/min, etc.
It does this for any/every possible next digit 0 to 9.

Checking other "exchanges": (343)-880, 881, 882, 885, 886, 887, 889 - all show $0.02/min, etc;
These exchanges show as free: (343)-883, 884, 888.
I guess I should have selected more carefully from the numbers offered when I signed on ;).

Peter
pmj
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/11/2012
SIP Device Name: Linksys SPA-2100
Firmware Version: 3.3.9
ISP Name: Rogers cable
Computer OS: Various Win vers & Linux distribs
Router: Linksys WRT54GL
Smartphone Model: Samsung SGH-T989D
Android Version: 4.1.2
iOS Version: 8

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby pmj » 11/27/2012

Hi:
Has anyone looked at the question I raised above re (343)-882-#### not showing as free from Dell Voice?
pmj
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/11/2012
SIP Device Name: Linksys SPA-2100
Firmware Version: 3.3.9
ISP Name: Rogers cable
Computer OS: Various Win vers & Linux distribs
Router: Linksys WRT54GL
Smartphone Model: Samsung SGH-T989D
Android Version: 4.1.2
iOS Version: 8

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby FONGO_mike » 11/28/2012

pmj wrote:Hi:
Has anyone looked at the question I raised above re (343)-882-#### not showing as free from Dell Voice?



When lookingu p the rates on dellvoice.ca, http://www.dellvoice.ca/ldServices#rl, the rate for those numbers comes up as free.....
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby pmj » 11/28/2012

FONGO_mike wrote:
pmj wrote:Hi:
Has anyone looked at the question I raised above re (343)-882-#### not showing as free from Dell Voice?



When lookingu p the rates on dellvoice.ca, http://www.dellvoice.ca/ldServices#rl, the rate for those numbers comes up as free.....


I didn't think to check there, I was just reporting the display on my phone. But:
Canada 1343880 $0.02
Canada 1343881 $0.02
Canada 1343882 $0.02
Canada 1343883 $-
Canada 1343884 $-
Canada 1343885 $0.02
Canada 1343886 $0.02
Canada 1343887 $0.02
Canada 1343888 $-
Canada 1343889 $0.02

.. is exactly what I reported above.
pmj
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/11/2012
SIP Device Name: Linksys SPA-2100
Firmware Version: 3.3.9
ISP Name: Rogers cable
Computer OS: Various Win vers & Linux distribs
Router: Linksys WRT54GL
Smartphone Model: Samsung SGH-T989D
Android Version: 4.1.2
iOS Version: 8

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby pmj » 11/28/2012

Slightly off-topic - I thought the "Find" button was weird - no-where to enter a number?

After searching around I found the panel - but it's invisible unless I crouch down with my head just above the keyboard! There is so little contrast between the background and the panel that at a vertical viewing angle of more than about 10° above horizontal the panel is invisible (Samsung 913V, same behaviour on another Samsung monitor). Can someone change the colour to increase the contrast, or add an outline to the panel?

Thanks

Peter
pmj
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/11/2012
SIP Device Name: Linksys SPA-2100
Firmware Version: 3.3.9
ISP Name: Rogers cable
Computer OS: Various Win vers & Linux distribs
Router: Linksys WRT54GL
Smartphone Model: Samsung SGH-T989D
Android Version: 4.1.2
iOS Version: 8

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Jake » 11/28/2012

pmj wrote:Slightly off-topic - I thought the "Find" button was weird - no-where to enter a number?

After searching around I found the panel - but it's invisible unless I crouch down with my head just above the keyboard! There is so little contrast between the background and the panel that at a vertical viewing angle of more than about 10° above horizontal the panel is invisible (Samsung 913V, same behaviour on another Samsung monitor). Can someone change the colour to increase the contrast, or add an outline to the panel?

Thanks

Peter


That might be your browser somehow, the find button on my computer in FF and IE is a bright blue button.

With regards to the 343 88X numbers
only 343-882, 343-883, and 343 884 are currently IN SERVICE, and on those numbers my DV app is showing as free calls.
343-885, and 343-886 are ASSIGNED to Fibernetics (Fongo's parent company), but as they are not showing as in service, this could be the reason why they are not rated properly.

The other 343-88X numbers have not been taken by any telco right now by the looks of it, so the rate lookup is defaulting to a paid call it seems. When the other numbers have been put in servive and are considered to be a free call by DV, then the rate lookup tool will be updated.
The cnac site is quite a handy tool for looking things like this up, although it can be a bit awkward to navigate. Here is the page for the 343 number, scroll down to the 88X block http://cnac.ca/data/ac343.htm
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2700
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby pmj » 11/28/2012

Thank you to someone - it was fixed sometime after 09:16 when I copied the search, and 09:57 when you posted. Now I can call home on the DellVoice app.

Re the "Find", using IE here (and probably the same on FF at home) - the button is bright blue - it's the panel into which one enters the phone number that's nearly invisible.

Peter
pmj
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/11/2012
SIP Device Name: Linksys SPA-2100
Firmware Version: 3.3.9
ISP Name: Rogers cable
Computer OS: Various Win vers & Linux distribs
Router: Linksys WRT54GL
Smartphone Model: Samsung SGH-T989D
Android Version: 4.1.2
iOS Version: 8

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby nanyte » 11/30/2012

MajicJack Numbers. I recently learned that with FPL, I still need to pay when calling someone on MajicJack. I imagine it has something to do with the portability of VOIP or something. She is indeed in one of the free areas, however, in the FPL call log, all it said was CANADA.

Just wanted to get some clarification around this.

tx
nanyte
Quiet One
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 11/30/2012

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby FONGO_steve » 12/03/2012

nanyte wrote:MajicJack Numbers. I recently learned that with FPL, I still need to pay when calling someone on MajicJack. I imagine it has something to do with the portability of VOIP or something. She is indeed in one of the free areas, however, in the FPL call log, all it said was CANADA.

Just wanted to get some clarification around this.

tx


This would likely be isolated to the specific exchange you're calling. As a phone provider, we have no way to know what number blocks are used by magic jack or not. If you wanted to PM fongo_mike or myself with the details of the call that was charged then we can check it out.
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby fongo360 » 02/17/2013

All number started by 579 ( quebec area, like laval, laprairie, boucherville, St-Bruno, Beloeil, Chomedey, Laprairie, Laval-Est, Laval-Ouest, Longueuil, Pont-Viau, St-Bruno, Ste-Rose, St-Lambert, these cities are listed as free area, but as i call, it come to charge for 2C/m and 4 C connection fees.
fongo360
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02/17/2013

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby fongo360 » 02/20/2013

like number 579 - 880 ****
579 - 239 ****
579 - 881 ****
579 - 882 ****
579 - 883 ****
579 - 884 ****
579 - 885 ****
579 - 886 ****
579 - 779 ****
fongo360
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02/17/2013

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Jake » 02/20/2013

fongo360 wrote:like number 579 - 880 ****
579 - 239 ****
579 - 881 ****
579 - 882 ****
579 - 883 ****
579 - 884 ****
579 - 885 ****
579 - 886 ****
579 - 779 ****


My list of free calling numbers is a little old now, but none of those show up on it so I think it is unlikely that these will be free.

The Quebec (and Victoria BC area for that matter) has always been a bit sketchy. They say they cover areas, but not all of the area. Montreal is another 'funny area'. Calling to these areas is not complete by any means. That's not to say it won't become free later, but I think you might be out of luck for now.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2700
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Funkytown » 02/20/2013

fongo360 wrote:All number started by 579 ( quebec area, like laval, laprairie, boucherville, St-Bruno, Beloeil, Chomedey, Laprairie, Laval-Est, Laval-Ouest, Longueuil, Pont-Viau, St-Bruno, Ste-Rose, St-Lambert, these cities are listed as free area, but as i call, it come to charge for 2C/m and 4 C connection fees.



fongo360 wrote:like number 579 - 880 ****
579 - 239 ****
579 - 881 ****
579 - 882 ****
579 - 883 ****
579 - 884 ****
579 - 885 ****
579 - 886 ****
579 - 779 ****


Hi 360, as you can see here viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7600 I already have a small lists of the towns and cities here in Quebec for potential expansion on the extended Free caling areas. Can you please come here viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7600 to re-post what (local areas) are not coming through as Free for you, as I have posted a few already.

Thank You
--------------------------------------------------------------
ImageTechnical phone issues... please open a new support ticket click hereImage
ImageVolunteers on this forum will never ask for your username or password by PM/Email.Image
User avatar
Funkytown
Technical Support
 
Posts: 456
Joined: 04/01/2010
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT-502
ISP Name: Cik Telecom
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: KW5262C15A
Smartphone Model: ChatR

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby fongo360 » 03/01/2013

Actually, i donèt have a full liste, if you live in a city where the number is not free, perhaps you can just choose an free number of the same region, like 581 for sherbrooke area, 514/438 for montreal area, and 579 450 for longueil and laval area,
fongo360
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02/17/2013

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby lheathl » 03/05/2013

I too have found another exchange that I believe should be a free call (according to CNA). It's in the Sarnia exchange 226-402-xxxx. I just happened to notice I was charged for a few calls to a number that is a local Sarnia number through Bell Mobility, 226-402-xxxx. I have emailed FPL customer support and they tell me I was charged correctly according to their records. I don't know who this should be directed to but I believe it should be corrected soon. If you PM me I can provide account details and dates.
lheathl
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 06/08/2012
SIP Device Name: SPA-2102
Firmware Version: 5.2.12
ISP Name: Distributel-Cogeco (NOT BELL)
Computer OS: xp/win7
Router: Linksys 2700
Smartphone Model: Galaxy

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Jake » 03/05/2013

lheathl wrote:I too have found another exchange that I believe should be a free call (according to CNA). It's in the Sarnia exchange 226-402-xxxx. I just happened to notice I was charged for a few calls to a number that is a local Sarnia number through Bell Mobility, 226-402-xxxx. I have emailed FPL customer support and they tell me I was charged correctly according to their records. I don't know who this should be directed to but I believe it should be corrected soon. If you PM me I can provide account details and dates.


That exchange is listed as Sarnia, and Sarnia is in the free calling list so it should be free.

Maybe Fongo_Neil or Fongo Support can let us know why these calls are not free. It could be that they are just not put into the rate table yet. This can happen if it is a newly released number on the exchange.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2700
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Bloodsong » 03/11/2013

Sorry, off-topic, I just noticed the Orange highlighted names. Hi Jake, long time no chat, awesome to see some official support for our seasoned member's words of wisdom.
User avatar
Bloodsong
Tried and True
 
Posts: 362
Joined: 09/18/2009
Location: Simcoe County
SIP Device Name: Zoiper| Grandstream GXP2000
ISP Name: Tek Savvy Internet (DSL)
Computer OS: CentOS, Arch, Widows 7, AIX, AS/400
Router: Cisco ASA 5520
Smartphone Model: Samsung Galaxy Ace Q
Android Version: 2.3.6

Re: Should this number be free?

Postby Luke » 03/27/2013

In Edmonton, numbers beginning with 310 incurs a charge of $0.02/min + $0.04 connection fee.

Affected number include 780-310-4300 (Epcor - local power / water utilities), 780-310-4638 (Telus Internet), and among others.
Luke
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 01/28/2013
Computer OS: Win 7

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron