Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Share your tips, tricks and best practise ideas for Fongo services in here!

Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Postby FONGO_steve » 10/08/2009

We get a lot of questions from users asking why their friends only see the number in the caller ID and not their name.

This generally only occurs on SIP-PSTN calls and not SIP-SIP calls. Why? Well, to make a long story about lax regulations short:
Call ID info for the PSTN is generally stored on a CNAM database provided by the serving CO. All ILECs always keep this database completely up to date because they run it and it's their customers in it. However, when it comes to CLECs and other network carriers along the way, there is no firm agreement or rules governing outgoing CNAM. So even if we do send CNAM data, there is no guarantee that all of the network carriers your call takes along the way will pass this info on. VOIP providers can overcome this problem by paying a third-party CNAM service to keep this up to date, but this is costly and the majority of providers simply don't have the money to put out for such a small thing.

SIP to SIP calls will almost always show name because the call is never touching the PSTN and is entirely digital.

There's some brief info here about this, but not a lot - google is really your friend if you want to know more. http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/CallerID
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby akoei » 04/01/2010

What callerid name FPL will send out? For the purchased configuration, the registered username is phone number, does this mean callerid name and callerid number are same?
I use asterisk 1.4, can the username be changed to real name?
akoei
Quiet One
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 12/14/2009
SIP Device Name: asterisk
ISP Name: 3web

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby FONGO_steve » 04/04/2010

akoei wrote:What callerid name FPL will send out? For the purchased configuration, the registered username is phone number, does this mean callerid name and callerid number are same?
I use asterisk 1.4, can the username be changed to real name?

We send name and number out, as we are required to by the CRTC. You can't modify it via asterisk - we disabled this because of too much abuse.
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby redge » 04/04/2010

now *67 nor *82 does not work thus you are unable to block your freephoneline number and it may have been appropriate to notify everyone of the impending change so they may prepare for the unblocking or unmasking of their fpl number. now that the fpl numbers' privacy may have been compromised and unknowingly displayed to callers againstheir hopes and wishes, will a new fpl number have to be purchased or will fpl agree to replace the compromised fpl number & when will the *67 blocking feature be fixed ?
Last edited by FONGO_kris on 04/05/2010, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed placed to replaced for you :)
redge
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 04/04/2010
SIP Device Name: pap
Firmware Version: 2
ISP Name: 3[g
Computer OS: 7

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby FONGO_steve » 04/05/2010

redge wrote:now *67 nor *82 does not work thus you are unable to block your freephoneline number and it may have been appropriate to notify everyone of the impending change so they may prepare for the unblocking or unmasking of their fpl number. now that the fpl numbers' privacy may have been compromised and unknowingly displayed to callers againstheir hopes and wishes, will a new fpl number have to be purchased or will fpl agree to replace the compromised fpl number & when will the *67 blocking feature be fixed ?

You can still use *67... I never said that.
We just don't allow you to modify the CID and replace it with another number of your choosing. Blocking is just fine. Just like any phone carrier, we comply with any and all CRTC regulation.
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby akoei » 04/05/2010

FPL-steve wrote:
akoei wrote:What callerid name FPL will send out? For the purchased configuration, the registered username is phone number, does this mean callerid name and callerid number are same?
I use asterisk 1.4, can the username be changed to real name?

We send name and number out, as we are required to by the CRTC. You can't modify it via asterisk - we disabled this because of too much abuse.


I just want to know what's my FPL callerid name, is the name field in FPL's profile? or just the phone number? Since as you said, calling to Bell can't get my callerid name, but when I called to another FPL soft phone, only phone # is displayed. So, what should be my callerid name?
akoei
Quiet One
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 12/14/2009
SIP Device Name: asterisk
ISP Name: 3web

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby westor » 04/15/2010

*67 is ignored by FPL. They send out your number regardless.
westor
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 07/31/2009

Re: Outgoing Caller ID FAQ

Postby FONGO_steve » 04/15/2010

westor wrote:*67 is ignored by FPL. They send out your number regardless.

Incorrect.
*67 needs to be supported by the ATA in order to work. The ATA then sends the anonymous caller-ID information to our server to be passed on.
If you dial our server directly with *67 it won't work, has to go through the ATA first.

Locking this topic - getting sidetracked. Original post is about CNAM and not caller-ID.
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Postby mrken » 06/16/2010

Looks like the original thread is locked...

I just want to mention that, in Canada, CNAM is sent by the terminating carrier, in contrast to the United States, where CNAM is looked up by the originating carrier. It appears Freephoneline is not properly transmitting the CNAM information to Canadian numbers.

This post explains it better:
http://www.mail-archive.com/asterisk@uc ... 05719.html

With my current business VoIP provider, I can dynamically set my CNAM independent of my CID for Canadian destinations, so I am confident that CNAM is set by the terminating carrier and not the originating carrier. When the calls terminate to American numbers, however, the CNAM appears to be discarded and retrieved from the originating carrier's directory.
mrken
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 06/07/2010

Re: Re: Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Postby FONGO_kris » 06/17/2010

I must respectfully disagree.

If you notice when making SIP to SIP calls, your CID as well as your CNAM appear undisturbed (proving we are sending it out just fine), but once the call dips down From IP to PSTN your CNAM is lost 40% of the time. This is not because of improper negotiation or trunking, it is simply because to keep the service free we use inexpensive terminating carriers whom do not always have the resources or willingness to pass our CNAM along with CID; without charging us premium routing fees which wouldn't allow us to keep this all free. That, and the fact your call may not always be going through a Canadian carrier if calling long distance.

I agree with the article you posted, ISUP is the most efficient way to pass your CID/CNAM. Just look how all of the sudden our CID Block started to function as it should.
Kris
Logistics & International Purchasing | Fongo
Call us toll-free! 611 from your fongo phone or 1-855-836-3355
Please advise I will no longer be contributing to this forum for the time being. Please feel free to email me.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Samsung Galaxy S2 [GT-I9100] / 3.0.15-I9100XXLPH / Thebyani v3.2
User avatar
FONGO_kris
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1937
Joined: 05/06/2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
SIP Device Name: Polycom 550 IP Phone
Firmware Version: 4.2.0.0310
ISP Name: Rogers Cable
Computer OS: Ubuntu 11.10
Router: Cisco E1200-N
Smartphone Model: Samsung Galaxy S2
Android Version: 4.0.3

Re: Re: Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Postby mrken » 06/22/2010

admin wrote:I must respectfully disagree.

If you notice when making SIP to SIP calls, your CID as well as your CNAM appear undisturbed (proving we are sending it out just fine), but once the call dips down From IP to PSTN your CNAM is lost 40% of the time. This is not because of improper negotiation or trunking, it is simply because to keep the service free we use inexpensive terminating carriers whom do not always have the resources or willingness to pass our CNAM along with CID; without charging us premium routing fees which wouldn't allow us to keep this all free. That, and the fact your call may not always be going through a Canadian carrier if calling long distance.

I agree with the article you posted, ISUP is the most efficient way to pass your CID/CNAM. Just look how all of the sudden our CID Block started to function as it should.

Thank you for the clarification.

I was under the (mis)understanding that Freephoneline uses Fibernetics to terminate calls so they can independently control how the CNAM is delivered.
mrken
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 06/07/2010

Re: Re: Outgoing Caller ID CNAM FAQ

Postby FONGO_kris » 06/22/2010

Not a problem at all, mrken. That's of course what we're here for.
Kris
Logistics & International Purchasing | Fongo
Call us toll-free! 611 from your fongo phone or 1-855-836-3355
Please advise I will no longer be contributing to this forum for the time being. Please feel free to email me.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Samsung Galaxy S2 [GT-I9100] / 3.0.15-I9100XXLPH / Thebyani v3.2
User avatar
FONGO_kris
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1937
Joined: 05/06/2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
SIP Device Name: Polycom 550 IP Phone
Firmware Version: 4.2.0.0310
ISP Name: Rogers Cable
Computer OS: Ubuntu 11.10
Router: Cisco E1200-N
Smartphone Model: Samsung Galaxy S2
Android Version: 4.0.3


Return to Tips & Tricks From Seasoned Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests