Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Here you can post your own working configurations of hardware or software to share with other users who may be using the same device!
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo
Forum rules
DISCLAIMER
This forum is for those users who have already purchased a configuration file with the SIP settings needed to configure any SIP compatible device.

1. Please use this forum only as a means to share your configuration advice and guides for ATA devices and SIP clients that you are using with our service.
2. For any questions relating to device configuration, please use the other forum sections or post your question directly in the device topic that your question is meant for.
3. Please title your topics with only the name and model of your device so users can easily find the information they need.
4. Preferable format for posting here is compressing your screenshots of your successfully configured device into a .zip file, and post a brief description of the configuration.

Please stay on topic

SIP Client for iPhone

Postby HP88 » 03/07/2010

Media5-fone app from iTunes works with FPL on iphone provided that you have the SIP settings purchased from FPL. It is easy to setup and get it running in 5 mins. As indicated in other forum, FPL does not support multiple device use. Hence once you use FPL on Media5-fone and if you wish to use it on the ATA at home, you would have to reset the ATA. Sometimes resetting the date and time via IP would work; other times you would need to reset by powering down.
I tried Siphon app and find it rather complicated to setup. If you have any other SIP client that FPL would work better, please post.
HP88
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 01/31/2010
SIP Device Name: SPA2102
ISP Name: Rogers Yahoo
Computer OS: XP Home

Re: SIP Client for iPhone

Postby alijoker » 03/21/2010

I use isip with My iphone.. It's not free I payed 6.99 at itunes
its great for me.
alijoker
Quiet One
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 08/07/2009

Re: SIP Client for iPhone

Postby FONGO_steve » 03/22/2010

I'm going to move this to device configuration section. Although it doesn't give actual configuration help, I think it will be a valuable resource for those looking for an iPhone/iPod Touch client!
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

iPod & iPhone SIP Configuration

Postby alijoker » 03/23/2010

Since so many people have been inquiring about using freephone on your iphone /itouch I thought I would write a guide on how to configure freephoneline on your iphone/itouch

What you need:
Purchase Freephoneline SIP settings ($50)
Apple iphone Wifi or 3g network access or itouch with mic and wifi
"Isip" application( 6.99 at itunes), there are free ones you can use but I believe Isip and most efficient SIP app to use.

FOR OUTGOING CALLS:
Follow Screenshots!
FOR INCOMING CALLS :


(2) Please enable apns setting in both the sip account and iSip's setting.

(3) If your username is not same as the incoming call number, like DID, please set incoming call number to sip account's incoming number.

(4) after all changes, make sure you saved SIP account.

(5) You may toggle APNS setting in iSip's setting page once to make sure the account information is sent to our server.

(6) on your iPhone's setting, please make sure iSip app's push notification service is enabled.

Once this is done, you can close iSip app.


Hope this helps!
Attachments
FPL For IPHONE .rar
(149.9 KiB) Downloaded 627 times
alijoker
Quiet One
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 08/07/2009

Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 07/31/2010

I am using the Acrobits SIP Softphone app on an iPod Touch, but am I having a few problems getting my FPL account set up and working properly on it. I purchased the config file and have been able to make a call to and from the device, but at times it does not seem to recognize the audio from the other party. It seems to be having problems when I use "Push Notification" to get a phone call when the app is not running. The app notifies me that there is a call, but somewhere in the tradeoff between the notification and launching the app to receive it, there is a mix up and I cannot hear the other party. Has anyone successfully configured their FPL account on a SIP client? There are a ton of settings in the app preferences so I think it's just a matter of getting the right settings. I appreciate any help that can be provided.

Kent
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby Jos » 07/31/2010

Me I use :
http://www.media5corp.com/mobilitysolutions/media5-fone
and it work very good and simple to install

Jos
Jos
Quiet One
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 07/18/2009

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 07/31/2010

Perhaps someone can provide me with the best codec(s) to use (keeping in mind the bandwidth vs. quality trade-off). Here are the codec options for the Acrobits SIP Phone app:

iLBC
G.711 u-Law
G.711 a-Law
G.722
GSM
G.729a (this is an optional codec that can be purchased)

The app allows me to order the codecs in the preference I would like them to be used. Is there a best order to use for PFL? In my "SIP Settings" on the PFL site, I noticed that it recommends G729a, but then I saw on the forums that this codec might not actually be supported in both directions. Hopefully someone can clarify this before I pay for the optional G.729a codec (if it is the best one to use).
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby bridonca » 07/31/2010

G.729a is highly recommended, very low bandwidth, and robust to network jitter. Probably the hardest on the CPU, but I doubt that is a problem anymore.

G.711 u-Law is hard on the bandwidth, and not very tolerant to jitter. Very easy on the CPU though

GSM I hear works with freephoneline, but not officially, it is easy on bandwidth, but not very tolerant to jitter.


iLBC
G.711 u-Law
G.722

These do not work with freephoneline
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 07/31/2010

@bridonca: are you sure that FPL works in both directions using G.729a? I've seen some comments on the forum that it actually only works in one direction (i.e. outgoing voice). I'm very new to all this VOIP technology so I am not sure what to believe. Also, you mention G.711 u-Law in two places in your message: once saying it works and once saying it doesn't. Did you mean G.711 a-Law in one of those instances? Can you please clarify? Thanks.
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 08/02/2010

I installed the G729 codec. It seems to work properly with outgoing calls, but on an incoming call, the G711 (u-Law) codec is selected instead. I have set G729 as the first choice, but it is never used for incoming calls. Is this something controlled by FPL that can be switched?
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 08/02/2010

Another issue I've been having is with the DTMF settings. If I call in to the FPL voicemail system, my key presses are accepted without any problem. However, if I call my landline and press number keys on the softphone, I cannot hear them on the landline phone. Similarly, if I call my bank's automated system, none of the key presses on the softphone register. I have tried the various settings I have available, but none seem to do the trick. The options are:

- RFC 2833
- SIP INFO
- audio

There is also an option in the Acrobits Softphone to "Send All Enabled" which sends all DTMF methods simultaneously. I've tried with this both on and off, but it does not help with the recognition by automated systems. Also, I have tried these various settings using both G729 and G711 (u-Law) without any success, and I have tried it with an outgoing call and an incoming call.
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 08/04/2010

FPL-Steve or Admin,
Any chance either of you might have some advice on the G.729 codec issue or the DTMF settings?
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby bridonca » 08/05/2010

kakgungor wrote:I installed the G729 codec. It seems to work properly with outgoing calls, but on an incoming call, the G711 (u-Law) codec is selected instead. I have set G729 as the first choice, but it is never used for incoming calls. Is this something controlled by FPL that can be switched?


That is a good question. I always thought it was the SIP client had control of the codec used.

Another question, the iphone is not exactly known for it multitasking abilities. You know how the SIP client is able to accept incoming calls with that limitation? Must require a nasty hack.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kakgungor » 08/06/2010

bridonca wrote:
kakgungor wrote:I installed the G729 codec. It seems to work properly with outgoing calls, but on an incoming call, the G711 (u-Law) codec is selected instead. I have set G729 as the first choice, but it is never used for incoming calls. Is this something controlled by FPL that can be switched?


That is a good question. I always thought it was the SIP client had control of the codec used.

Another question, the iphone is not exactly known for it multitasking abilities. You know how the SIP client is able to accept incoming calls with that limitation? Must require a nasty hack.


The Acrobits Softphone app that I am using handles calls very elegantly. When the app is not in the foreground, calls come through as "Push Notifications" which basically alert you to the fact that there is a call and with the push of one button you can then switch to the app to answer the call. It even rings like a regular phone call.
kakgungor
Quiet One
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 06/23/2010

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby laurent » 08/12/2010

I installed Siphon from Cydia, and it works perfectly. See my settings here: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1562
laurent
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 532
Joined: 08/06/2010
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT-502
Firmware Version: 1.0.1.63
ISP Name: DSL TekSavvy
Computer OS: OSX Snow Leopard
Router: Linksys WRT54GL w/tomato

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby jimmy07kalia » 06/01/2011

Hello Sir/Madam
i have sip config file and i have problems in setting up isip sofware
Problems is whenever i use this sofware thru cellullar connection or other wifi network except my home it doesn't work, i mean to say call is going thru but there is no converstation take place as i can hear any thing from this software
But when i use it from my home internet than i don't have any problems and my home internet is from your company i.e worldline.ca
Plz help me to fix the problem
i have seen those pic that u posted on forums for this software & that does nt help me, can u also plz let me knw wt version of software u have used in that pics, because newest version for sure have problems
jimmy07kalia
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/01/2011
SIP Device Name: isip for iphone
ISP Name: worldline
Computer OS: Mac os x10.6.8
Router: thomson gateway

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby bridonca » 06/01/2011

Sadly, your router is not properly routing the RTP audio. You need better firmware, or even a new router in some cases. You might also have to manually forward ports.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby jimmy07kalia » 06/01/2011

can i forward ports on software and if so can u plz mention ports and help me for this situtation
jimmy07kalia
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/01/2011
SIP Device Name: isip for iphone
ISP Name: worldline
Computer OS: Mac os x10.6.8
Router: thomson gateway

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kennor » 06/15/2011

Thank you , i have read all the information and tried to set the phone settings on Iphone 4, [b]it is working okay when i dial using wifi[/b], but when i dial over 3g other side the caller receiver can hear me loud and clear but some how I am unable to hear them.


on phone status it says connected and ready but when some one dial to my number it goes to voicemail instead of ringing ...


any one can advise me

System
I Phone 4

Voip Software on Iphone : SoftPhone
kennor
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/15/2011
SIP Device Name: Iphone

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby seagame2001 » 09/06/2011

Groundwire is better cause it has call waiting feature and transfer calls
seagame2001
Tried and True
 
Posts: 394
Joined: 11/27/2010
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T
Firmware Version: Groundwire
ISP Name: 3web
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Dlink-DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.1.1

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kennor » 09/06/2011

Can u Please ^Post the Sip Setting for Ground wire .......
kennor
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/15/2011
SIP Device Name: Iphone

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby seagame2001 » 09/07/2011

There I just post setup guide on Groundwire SIP

I hope this will help your guys out
Attachments
Groundwire SIP setup.pdf
(1.33 MiB) Downloaded 368 times
seagame2001
Tried and True
 
Posts: 394
Joined: 11/27/2010
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T
Firmware Version: Groundwire
ISP Name: 3web
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Dlink-DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.1.1

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby kennor » 09/07/2011

Thank you so much but some how after following same steps getting this msg, and still getting the error
photo.PNG
kennor
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06/15/2011
SIP Device Name: Iphone

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby seagame2001 » 09/07/2011

make sure you user is your FPL starts with 1416xxxxxxx and your sip password that you bought from FPL NOT the password that your log in on the web browswer to your account

OK make a little simple delete that sip account that you have on Groundwire right now and re-enter again

After you get this far as the picture I attach here and click save and see what happen on the main pages

If you see FPL in screen colour that's correct and continue to play around with the setting as I have in the tutorial
Attachments
FPL 001.PNG
seagame2001
Tried and True
 
Posts: 394
Joined: 11/27/2010
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T
Firmware Version: Groundwire
ISP Name: 3web
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Dlink-DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.1.1

Re: Configuring SIP Client on iPhone/iPod Touch

Postby seagame2001 » 09/08/2011

did you get it work? kennor
seagame2001
Tried and True
 
Posts: 394
Joined: 11/27/2010
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T
Firmware Version: Groundwire
ISP Name: 3web
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Dlink-DD-WRT
Smartphone Model: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.1.1

Next

Return to Device Configuration Sharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest