Page 1 of 1

FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 11/21/2016
by mh1983
Hi all,

I've collected these items into a document over the months. The doc builds upon the great info from Jake/Val and Mango in the past and is working config for 1.0.8.2 firmware on HT-701.

I've gotten a lot of help on these forums since I started using FPL. I wanted to share this out to pay that back, even in a small way. Hope this will help someone get up and running.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 11/21/2016
by Fongo Support
Hi,

Thank you so much for your efforts. I made your post a sticky.

Thanks again!

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/04/2017
by Natalie
I recently updated my firmware from 1.0.7 to 1.0.8.2; the only difference I noticed between my past settings to the ones listed in this guide are the change in SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time from 20 to 120. My form has 20 listed as a default. Just noticed today that when I tried to call out I got a "device not registered" message. Could this be due to this change?

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/10/2017
by Liptonbrisk
Natalie wrote:I recently updated my firmware from 1.0.7 to 1.0.8.2; the only difference I noticed between my past settings to the ones listed in this guide are the change in SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time from 20 to 120. My form has 20 listed as a default. Just noticed today that when I tried to call out I got a "device not registered" message. Could this be due to this change?


No. 120 is correct.
http://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en-u ... redentials

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/10/2017
by mh1983
Natalie wrote:I recently updated my firmware from 1.0.7 to 1.0.8.2; the only difference I noticed between my past settings to the ones listed in this guide are the change in SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time from 20 to 120. My form has 20 listed as a default. Just noticed today that when I tried to call out I got a "device not registered" message. Could this be due to this change?


Also, for 1.0.8.2 -- Enable SIP Options Keep Alive: Yes

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/15/2017
by leonnoel
Hi. With these current settings, I'm not able to receive audio on incoming calls. However, audio is successfully transmitted on incoming calls, and audio is successfully transmitted and received on outgoing calls. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm using firmware 1.0.8.2 on the Grandstream HT-701.

Thanks

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/29/2017
by Natalie
mh1983 wrote:
Natalie wrote:I recently updated my firmware from 1.0.7 to 1.0.8.2; the only difference I noticed between my past settings to the ones listed in this guide are the change in SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time from 20 to 120. My form has 20 listed as a default. Just noticed today that when I tried to call out I got a "device not registered" message. Could this be due to this change?


Also, for 1.0.8.2 -- Enable SIP Options Keep Alive: Yes

Have all the items checked off as indicated in the Config guide including your suggestion above, and it still says device not registered about once a day.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/30/2017
by mh1983
To the folks above having connectivity issues using HT-701 on 1.0.8.2:

Can you try changing this setting to the suggested value below?

SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses: WAN Address

Are you using voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060? If not, I'd suggest to try it.

Also, check the suggestions here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=18908&p=74214&hilit=bridge+mode#p74214

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 01/30/2017
by mh1983
Another thing to try as you work through some troubleshooting steps: consider changing the two DNS servers from the ISP-provided values to OpenDNS (what I use) or Google DNS values

Post back here with how it goes and I'll happily make changes to the doc if they're needed. Good luck!.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 02/14/2017
by mh1983
v2 of the doc contains troubleshooting information with credit to Lipton and Mango.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 02/14/2017
by Liptonbrisk
For those that are interested, Asus Merlin only works with the routers listed at https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/about.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 06/15/2017
by mh1983
v3 of the doc contains a setting I recently learned needs to be changed from the default value

SIP OPTIONS Keep Alive Interval -- change to 20 (30 is the default)

Thanks to Lipton for pointing it out in another thread.

It also contains the link to the supported Asus routers for Merlin firmware, and a procedure for upgrading the HT701 to 1.0.8.2 firmware.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 08/19/2017
by GenChick
Thank you mh1983, for all hard work you have done: collecting info, posting and updating this guide! It is easy to follow and very helpful!

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 11/29/2017
by mh1983
Does anyone know how to disable or change the music on hold for the HT701? Mine has some really weird calypso music. It's pretty funny but awkward. I can't find any documentation or posts anywhere about this. Thanks in advance!

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 11/29/2017
by Liptonbrisk
mh1983 wrote:Does anyone know how to disable or change the music on hold for the HT701? Mine has some really weird calypso music. It's pretty funny but awkward. I can't find any documentation or posts anywhere about this. Thanks in advance!


The source of the music is actually coming from Fongo/FPL.

I don't know of a way to disable it on Grandstream ATAs, but I've also never owned one.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 03/06/2018
by mh1983
For 1.0.7.2 (I think), Mango called out this setting:

Once the new firmware is installed, set SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses to WAN address.

I don't have this called out in the 1.0.8.2 guide, but I see that that field is present in the firmware -- the default is LAN address.

Does anyone know which is the preferred setting? I'd like to capture that in an update to the guide. Thx!

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 03/06/2018
by Liptonbrisk
mh1983 wrote:For 1.0.7.2 (I think), Mango called out this setting:

Once the new firmware is installed, set SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses to WAN address.

I don't have this called out in the 1.0.8.2 guide, but I see that that field is present in the firmware -- the default is LAN address.

Does anyone know which is the preferred setting? I'd like to capture that in an update to the guide. Thx!



Set that to WAN

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 03/08/2018
by mh1983
V4 w/ a minor update:
* Added "SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses WAN Address" (thx, Mango and Lipton)
* Removed duplicate field "Transfer on Conference Hangup"

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 04/18/2018
by Liptonbrisk
"Ensure whatever modem/router combo your ISP gave you is in bridge mode" should be changed to "If you're using your own router, ensure whatever modem/router combo your ISP gave you is in bridge mode if you encounter problems, such as one-way audio or device registration issues."

If you don't have your own router, sticking a gateway or modem/router combo into bridge mode will leave your ATA unprotected.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 04/29/2018
by mh1983
Thanks, Lipton! Here's v5 of the guide with the change you suggested.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 04/29/2018
by mh1983
I'd like to update the original post with the latest guide but can't figure out how. Any pointers are appreciated!

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 04/29/2018
by Liptonbrisk
mh1983 wrote:I'd like to update the original post with the latest guide but can't figure out how. Any pointers are appreciated!



Done. I deleted the old ones so that no one can accidentally download them.

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

PostPosted: 04/30/2018
by mh1983
Thanks, Lipton -- appreciate it!

1.0.10.3 released

PostPosted: 09/22/2018
by mh1983
I see that 1.0.10.3 was released for the 701 and 702 on May 29th (http://firmware.grandstream.com/Release ... 0.10.3.pdf). I upgraded my ATA and so far things seem to be working fine with the config I used for 1.0.8.2.

I will see how my ATA does over the next few days and report back/update the documentation as needed.