FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Have a question or problem with your application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.

FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Postby andyhxl » 07/27/2015

Hi, I have a phone number I need to port over, but would like to do this after making sure the unlock key works with the ATA I am trying to buy and the FPL service works. Is it possible I pay for the unlock key first with the new phone number, make sure everything works, then I pay for the phone number port over? Once I make sure the unlock key/service works, I pay for the number port over do I need to pay for the unlock key again just because the phone number is changed? Thanks.
andyhxl
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 07/27/2015

Share On:

Re: FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Postby bridonca » 07/27/2015

That is the best way to do it! I would only go one step at a time so you do not have to outlay any cash for experimenting, at least in the beginning.

First get a freephoneline account, and pick a free phone number. Then use the freeephoneline's desktop soft phone and test it out. The desktop soft phone is not very good, but it is functional, and it gives you an idea of what you are getting yourself into. Play with it, test it. When you are happy with the performance, it is time to lay out some cash.

When you are happy with the freephoneline service and it's potential, pay $60 for the SIP settings. This allows you to be able to use pretty much any SIP VOIP device, OBIHAI ATA phone devices my particular favourite. With an ATA device, you can use a regular telephone to make calls. Again, play with it, make calls, take calls, get comfortable with the technology. When you are happy, then you can port you old number over. That costs $25, and you will lose the old number freephoneline assigned to you after a successful porting process.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1067
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Postby andyhxl » 07/28/2015

Hi Bridonca, thanks for your reply. I have tested and paid for the SIP setting and ATA, looks fine. So I have paid for the phone number port over. I guess after the number is ported over, I just need to get into the ATA to change the setting from the free number to the number I ported in and that should work?
andyhxl
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 07/27/2015

Re: FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Postby ganaa » 08/03/2015

Hello bridonca
Could you pls. help me , i installed and registered to window desktop appl. Tried to make a call before buying an unlock code. But can't make or receive any calls. Have tried a port forwarding in router but no changes. Do you think a unlock key will solve my problem?
ganaa
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08/03/2015
SIP Device Name: obi200

Re: FPL Number Porting & Unlock Key

Postby curt » 10/02/2015

bridonca wrote:When you are happy with the freephoneline service and it's potential, pay $60 for the SIP settings. This allows you to be able to use pretty much any SIP VOIP device, OBIHAI ATA phone devices my particular favourite. With an ATA device, you can use a regular telephone to make calls. Again, play with it, make calls, take calls, get comfortable with the technology. When you are happy, then you can port you old number over. That costs $25, and you will lose the old number freephoneline assigned to you after a successful porting process.


After I do the last step (port the old number over), do I need to change any settings in my VoIP phone or ObiHai ATA?
curt
Quiet One
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 12/18/2014
SIP Device Name: Desktop Application for Mac
Firmware Version: 3.2.7.0
ISP Name: Bell Sympatico DSL
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.6.8
Router: Bell 2Wire / Asus GX-D1081


Return to Customer Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron