Caller ID - Dell Voice

Have a great idea? We'd love to hear it! Want to share the story of how Fongo is saving you money? This is the place to do it!

Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby HP88 » 02/09/2012

How can I change the Caller ID on the iphone app for Dell Voice from the default of the phone number to name?
HP88
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 01/31/2010
SIP Device Name: SPA2102
ISP Name: Rogers Yahoo
Computer OS: XP Home

Share On:

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby FONGO_mike » 02/09/2012

Are you asking about on your outgoing calls or incoming calls?
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby HP88 » 02/09/2012

It sounds like caller ID is only available to SIP based number. I used the PC app to change the caller ID. It took it but not sure if the call recipient can read the caller ID.
HP88
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 01/31/2010
SIP Device Name: SPA2102
ISP Name: Rogers Yahoo
Computer OS: XP Home

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby HP88 » 02/10/2012

How to include picture in the Caller ID for outgoing calls in the iphone app or via Dell Voice account?
HP88
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 01/31/2010
SIP Device Name: SPA2102
ISP Name: Rogers Yahoo
Computer OS: XP Home

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby FONGO_steve » 02/10/2012

HP88 wrote:How to include picture in the Caller ID for outgoing calls in the iphone app or via Dell Voice account?

Pictures will show up when other people have you in their contact list and have associated a picture with you. Mobile and wireline phone networks do not allow "data" or picture transmissions in call signalling along with caller ID info.
Steve
Fongo
Development Support Specialist.
User avatar
FONGO_steve
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 07/16/2009
Location: Cambridge
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286 & 701
ISP Name: Worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate / Mac OS X
Router: TR1043ND w/ DD-WRT Mega
Smartphone Model: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.0.4

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby cwslwong » 03/31/2012

Can someone tell me how I can get caller ID on my mobile phone? I have an android nexus. I tried emailing dell voice's support with no response. I tried calling their support number and the lady had no clue about this simple question and had to refer me to level 2 response. Of course no one from dell voice calls back. I'm thinking their supprt s**ks big time. Caller ID is listed as a feature on their web site and one of the main reasons for me to sign up.
cwslwong
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/31/2012

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby FONGO_mike » 03/31/2012

cwslwong wrote:Can someone tell me how I can get caller ID on my mobile phone? I have an android nexus. I tried emailing dell voice's support with no response. I tried calling their support number and the lady had no clue about this simple question and had to refer me to level 2 response. Of course no one from dell voice calls back. I'm thinking their supprt s**ks big time. Caller ID is listed as a feature on their web site and one of the main reasons for me to sign up.



The caller ID is automatically active with Dell Voice. Any time someone calls, provided they are not calling from a blocked/private/confidential number, it will show the number that they are calling you form.
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby cwslwong » 04/01/2012

well if it is automatic and I am seeing it then I wouldn't be trying to contact Dell/ Fongo in the first place nor try to post here to possibly get an answer why I'm not seeing it. Another great response from Dell - not!
cwslwong
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/31/2012

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby Jake » 04/01/2012

cwslwong wrote:well if it is automatic and I am seeing it then I wouldn't be trying to contact Dell/ Fongo in the first place nor try to post here to possibly get an answer why I'm not seeing it. Another great response from Dell - not!


What are you seeing when a call comes in?

DellVoice nor Fongo do number lookups, so if the name is not passed from the telco that is calling you DellVoice will not find it for you like, say, Bell would. DellVoice will just show the number of the person.

Are you seeing anything (a phone number for example) or is it just showing private / anonymous ?
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby dibsmft » 04/02/2012

As I understand it.
On the regular phone network (PSTN traditional) the technology available never had the capability to send the caller name, only the originating number. To provide caller ID the phone company does a lookup of the Name using the incoming number and sends that to the called subscrber (and charges anbout $9 permonth I think ... never subscribed myself). A few voip providers will do the lookup and charge for it (voip.ms charges about 0.8 cents per call). If Fongo offers a free service and to do the lookup would no doubt cut into their income a bit so they don't do it. I suppose they could offer name lookup for a fee but that would mean additional cost to the user. There is no problem for SIP to send the caller ID and receive it so when making pure SIP calls you will normally get the full caller ID .... and for free.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby FONGO_mike » 04/02/2012

dibsmft, something to keep in mind with Dell Voice. If the number is saved to a contact, it will display the name you have saved to that number when they call. At this time however, Dell Voice can only guarantee the number will show up on the display as long as it is not a blocked/private/confidential number.
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Caller ID - Dell Voice

Postby dibsmft » 04/02/2012

That does work sometimes. I mentioned it earlier but nobody seemed interested in connection with my cordless phone does quite a good job there (not tried with Dell Voice though). It does not bother me much as I can recognise the numbers and I have never subscribed to caller ID. I think one of the complaints was that Anonymous was being displayed rather than the number and I agree displaying the number would be more useful. I can't use my DellVoice number as my main number as it is in Montreal and I am in NL :) and I am not allowed to change the caller ID to show my real local number.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

FPL - CID

Postby TheHardy » 04/02/2012

I'd be happy to get the NUMBERS popping up on the FPL softphone ... EVERYTHING comes in as anonymous ... known bug, frustrating to see it NOT be resolved even after all this time...
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: FPL - CID

Postby dibsmft » 04/03/2012

TheHardy wrote:I'd be happy to get the NUMBERS popping up on the FPL softphone ... EVERYTHING comes in as anonymous ... known bug, frustrating to see it NOT be resolved even after all this time...
and that

The provider that I use for my local DID simple shows the originating phone number twice and that seems to be a simple solution .... i.e. translate the Anomymous vasriable slot to "incoming number variable in the applicable script.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1


Return to Suggestions & Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron