Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Have a great idea? We'd love to hear it! Want to share the story of how Fongo Home Phone is saving you money? This is the place to do it!

Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby TheHardy » 10/21/2012

Hard to pick which of the new forums to throw this in, but seeing as Fongo wants to be a REAL home-phone replacement, this seems fitting.

We have had this discussion in other threads, but it seems relevant to bring it up again.

For those of you that are new, a DID is a Direct Inward Dialing number, essentially a 10-D number that can be assigned to a user (read phone number!).

There has always been discussion and desire for Fongo to broaden the base to which they offer actual numbers ... Most of these are cities to which Fongo already offers FREE calling, but currently does not assign numbers.

Also, for those unaware, I will state that it is known that there is a relatively LARGE start-up cost associated with "opening an exchange" or offering DIDs in a given ratecentre ... and I suppose that more than anything else is what has hampered expansion.

So, in no particular order (but with a few comments):
Winnipeg, MB ("legacy" - one of the original cities that had free calling but no DIDs!)
Halifax, NS ("legacy" as with Wpg!)
Victoria, BC (provincial capital, population centre)
Kelowna, BC (population centre)
Regina, SK (provincial capital, pop centre)
Saskatoon, SK (pop centre)
Fredricton, NB (prov cap, pop centre)
St John's, NL (prov cap, pop centre)
Charlottetown, PE (prov cap, pop centre)
Brandon, MB (pop centre)


Feel free to chime in ... I could list more around BC, but I don't want to be seen as a HOMER ...
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby TheClarkster » 10/31/2012

Oh yes, I would really love a DID in Victoria.
TheClarkster
One Hit Wonder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10/31/2012

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby TheHardy » 10/31/2012

I notice new expansion throughout Quebec, and can only hope that similar will occur in the West. If they want to target people for porting in and selecting home phone service, the DID coverage will have to greatly increase!! And unless the policy on purchasing DIDs from other providers changes, they will incur major upfront costs in opening up their own NPA-NXX's (unless Fibernetics in turn resells unused DID's to other providers?)
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby apukwa » 12/06/2012

Peterborough and Campbellford, ON have exchagnes that show as "Assigned" but not "In Service" for Fibernetics... I'm hoping that's a good sign.
apukwa
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06/08/2011

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby tbrummell » 12/07/2012

Someone else looking for a C'ford number? Weird! :)

I have a current C'ford number via VoIP.ms, not free obviously, but it lets my parents call me cheaply instead of paying Bhell's ridiculous LD prices.
tbrummell
Tried and True
 
Posts: 330
Joined: 09/21/2010
Location: Ottawa
SIP Device Name: PIAF/Mitel/PolyCom/Cisco
Firmware Version: Asterisk 1.8
ISP Name: Rogers
Computer OS: CentOS/Windows2008/Win7/Android
Router: pfSense/Neoware thin client

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby nauru » 01/15/2013

I vote for Halifax, NS. By the way, in the case that FPL is not offering their own phone numbers, is it still possible to port a number since there's free calling? Example: FPL doesn't have Victoria phone numbers to give you, but if you currently have a home phone with Bell in Victoria, can you port that number to FPL and thereby keep your Victoria number while using FPL instead of Bell?
nauru
Quiet One
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 05/23/2011
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T-NA
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Linksys WRT54GS w/ Tomato

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby Jake » 01/15/2013

nauru wrote:I vote for Halifax, NS. By the way, in the case that FPL is not offering their own phone numbers, is it still possible to port a number since there's free calling? Example: FPL doesn't have Victoria phone numbers to give you, but if you currently have a home phone with Bell in Victoria, can you port that number to FPL and thereby keep your Victoria number while using FPL instead of Bell?


A while ago I would have said no, they will only port numbers in areas where they provide DIDs. BUT, I have seen a few posts by Fongo_Mike that suggests that it is possible to port numbers where they do not offer DIDs. What I believe will happen though is say you port your Victoria number to Fongo, it will get ported to the nearest exchange where they offer DIDs - which I believe will be Vancouver from there. So although it is a Victoria number, it will behave as a Vancouver number in regards to which other numbers will consider it 'local'. A number that can call Victoria local now might not be able to once it is ported to the Vancouver exchange.

I will say I have not seen it spelled out like I have put above from an official Fongo Staff member, it is just what I have gleamed from other posts they have posted.

EDIT - I have just seen this page which would suggest your Victoria number cannot be ported. http://support.fongo.com/entries/228663 ... go-network
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby nauru » 01/23/2013

What is the minimum number of subscribers that Freephoneline needs in a given area to make expansion to that area economically viable?
nauru
Quiet One
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 05/23/2011
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T-NA
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Linksys WRT54GS w/ Tomato

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby FONGO_mike » 01/24/2013

Jake wrote:
nauru wrote:
EDIT - I have just seen this page which would suggest your Victoria number cannot be ported. http://support.fongo.com/entries/228663 ... go-network



Please rememebr when looking at that list, numbers in the 450 area code of Montreal and the surrounding areas can not be ported.
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

Re: Cities/Ratecentres for DID expansion

Postby nauru » 10/22/2013

Any word on expansion?
nauru
Quiet One
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 05/23/2011
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2T-NA
Firmware Version: 5.1.6
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Linksys WRT54GS w/ Tomato


Return to Suggestions & Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest