When can I get a Manitoba phone number

Have a great idea? We'd love to hear it! Want to share the story of how Fongo is saving you money? This is the place to do it!

When can I get a Manitoba phone number

Postby Gord » 02/08/2012

I live in Manitoba and would like to have a local number.

Also, can I current port my existing Manitoba number to this service eventhough I registered with a British Columbia number?

Also, can I change my current number, or do I need to keep it permanently?

Thanks,

Gord
Gord
One Hit Wonder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02/08/2012
SIP Device Name: Android
ISP Name: Rogers Cell / Rural WISP for HSI

Re: When can I get a Manitoba phone number

Postby FONGO_mike » 02/08/2012

Hi Gord,

At the moment we are not able to provide Manitoba numbers. I can not say when we are expecting to be able to offer numbers in that are.
As a result, we are not yet able to port numbers in the area either.
Once you have signed up an account and selected the phone number, you are not able to change it unless you delete the account and sign up a new one.
L3 Escalation Support Specialist
Fibernetics
Please contact me for your FPL DSL issues. For phone issues, please open a support ticket by going here.
Never give out personal information or access to your computer to somebody you don't know, Fongo staff will never ask for your username or password.
User avatar
FONGO_mike
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: 12/22/2011
Location: Fibernetics Head Office
SIP Device Name: Grandstream 286/TG701
ISP Name: www.worldline.ca
Computer OS: Windows 7/ Windows XP/Windows Vista
Router: TG784. 780, 585, 546.
Smartphone Model: Bold 9900

SUGGESTION for Fongo

Postby TheHardy » 03/12/2012

FONGO_mike wrote:Hi Gord,
At the moment we are not able to provide Manitoba numbers. I can not say when we are expecting to be able to offer numbers in that are.
As a result, we are not yet able to port numbers in the area either.
Once you have signed up an account and selected the phone number, you are not able to change it unless you delete the account and sign up a new one.


I think that this has been suggested before ...

But I am renewing it again, as we now MAY (heavy emphasis) be close to opening up some new DIDs ...

My suggestion is, that once NEW DID's are in place and offered (not necessarily ADDITIONAL ones, just ones in new areas/ratecentres), that EXISTING users with an EXISTING account (and therefore an EXISITING Fongo number) have a process whereby they can CHANGE their Fongo-service number to one in the new DID. Especially if it is one in their home province where service was not offered before.

To prevent abuse of this, perhaps have it on a REQUEST-APPROVE process, whereby manual intervention on the part of a CSR is required.

It could be implemented via the main user-account interface, where the user could select an option such as "REQUEST NUMBER IN NEW EXCHANGE". The user would then need to enter a reason (perhaps via drop down menu) as to WHY they are requesting a new number, followed by the "pre-selection" of a PROVINCE/RATECENTRE (note: not a line number yet!), and then submit it for approval.

Once reviewed and approved by a Fongo CSR, the user upon next login (and of course email notification that their request has been approved) would be able to essentially go back to a number-selection process as in the INITIAL NUMBER SELECTION when first registering, EXCEPT they would be limited to their pre-selected new province/ratecentre, still able to get their 4 tries tho.

This REQUEST-APPROVE process should cut down on the abuse of this feature, and would make it a LOT more user friendly than having to sign up for a new account with a different email address and then going back and cancelling your old account. It would also allow the user COMPLETE control over when they cut-over their OLD number to a NEW number so that there would be no surprises!

On the FONGO side of things, it would also allow FONGO to more effectively recycle/reclaim old numbers. As they would know which ones were actually active, they could effectively age them correctly for the 90 or 180 days (or whatever the process is before they can be re-assigned!), rather than just having them TIME OUT from non-use first (adding 90 days to the process) and THEN reclaiming them.

Furthermore, if this suggestion is acted on, here are a few suggestions for the potential DROP DOWN MENU for reasons for requesting a new phone number:
-- I am requesting a new number in an area that is offering a new DID / This number is closer to my home.
-- I have moved and am requesting a number in my new area
-- I have received prank/annoying calls on my number and require a new one
-- No real reason, I just like to mix things up
-- I am attempting to make work and cause confusion at Fongo!

The last one is a joke of course! ;)
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none


Return to Suggestions & Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests