New SIM not working

Have a question or problem with your Fongo Wireless service? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Visit The FongoWireless Support Knowledge-base for more.

New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/04/2020

I activated my new SIM yesterday. I am not getting Data on the new SIM.

The SIM shows active and the Mobile data is on and the APNs are set.

See attached screen shots

PIXEL 3 A Android 10

FONGO 3.11.2.6


Everything works fine on WIFI just not when I am out and about trying to use the data SIM
Attachments
Screenshot_20200704-170517.png
Screenshot_20200704-170517.png (98.97 KiB) Viewed 331 times
Screenshot_20200704-170456.png
Screenshot_20200704-170456.png (153.18 KiB) Viewed 331 times
Screenshot_20200704-170427.png
Screenshot_20200704-170427.png (158.77 KiB) Viewed 331 times
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear

Re: New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/04/2020

curiouser and curiouser As of 20:30 this evening the SIM started working. Rogers network had a bit of a blip I guess.


Anyone have a similar problem with intermittent connectivity?
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear

Re: New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/06/2020

Opened problem ticket 445179 on July 4th ... so far no response from FONGO.

Today (Monday July 6th) the SIM stopped working when I was in Flamborough Ontario (just north of Hamilton Airport). ROGERS
signal was strong but no data connection. FONGO service could not connect (actually any app requiring data did not work).

Driving home from Flamborough the SIM suddenly activated around Appleby and Dundas (about 15 km from my home).

This service is not ready for prime time if this is how it is working .... I would have thought ROGERS coverage was strong throughout Ontario.
Certainly the FIDO data coverage worked seamlessly in all areas I travel to.

I await a response from Fongo Technical support as to next steps.
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear

Re: New SIM not working

Postby Jake » 07/07/2020

I use the ltemobile.apn setting. None of the others I found stable especially when tethering, and even more especially when using Android for tething for some reason. I usually had to restart the phone to get it to work again when using the gonet or ltedata apns.

Might be worth trying one of the other ones.

In general my service is mostly stable. It does have outages now and again that are frustrating, but it's not that common.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/07/2020

thanks. I will select the Rogers itemobile.apn setting and see if this works.
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear

Re: New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/07/2020

Changing to itemobile.apn works, Service provided data access and fongo connected.

Why on earth would they have gonet.apn in their set up instructions if this doesn't work! Go figure.
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear

Re: New SIM not working

Postby Jake » 07/08/2020

The gonet APN does work, I have used it now and again while testing. I just find the ltemobile one more reliable for some reason. I think it has something to do with which account Rogers routes the data through to bill; I have no real idea though. You would have thought the gonet one would be the only one that works, but there you go.

Glad it's working again for you. If it stops, I would suggest changing to one of the others you have there. At one point or another all 3 have worked for me.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: New SIM not working

Postby goliver » 07/11/2020

thank you. Fongo support eventually replied to my open ticket yesterday and advised they are updating their FAQ's .

itemobile.apn continues to work for me with 100% availability. Good download and upload speed.

Thanks for your help with this.
goliver
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11/29/2017
SIP Device Name: NEXUS 5
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: MAC OSX
Router: Netgear


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron