Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm system.

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm system.

Postby itiBi8 » 03/07/2018

Hi!

Last week, I installed my OBI202 (v3.2.1 build 5757EX) following version 1.52 from the great Webslinger's guide.
I am not using ObiTalk.
Phone2 port is exclusively for alarm panel GE/Allegro

My problem is that my alarm monitoring company said that they did not receive calls from my home
but FPL/CallLogs indicates that communication has been established,
for a duration of 17 seconds and disconnected with normal call clearing.

My alarm panel indicates that the phone test failed.

This happened with the 2 phone numbers dialed by the panel (main number 514xxx and backup 1866xxx).

So it seems that both systems CANNOT converse correctly.

Alarm company is not very helpful. Their response is 'VOIP is not supported'. PERIOD.
They offer that a salesman call me for Cellular modem alternative. Niet!

My panel was connected previously with another ATA : OOMA/Linx set to alarm mode
and it was working perfectly.
By browsing the web, it seems that Alarm mode
disables call waiting, uses High Bandwidth G711 and sets TouchToneDigits to inbound.


Here are the alarm panel parameters for Phone 1:
Number = 514xxxxxxx
FMT-CID = CID
HighLVL = ON (Fire, intrusion...)
Low LVL = ON (low battery, door openings...)
Pre-Dial string = none
DTMF Dial = ON

Phone 2 indicates:
Number = 1866xxxxxxx
FMT-CID = CID
HighLVL = OFF
Low LVL = ON
Pre-Dial string = none
DTMF Dial = ON

The only parameter which has a choice is FMT-CID which can be set to CID or SIA.

I prefer not to change any parameters on the panel side
I am not even sure if my user code number is not read-only.

Which OBI202 parameters should I take a look at ?

Anyone succeed in connecting alarm panel ?

I am convicted that the problem can be resolve with a small adjustment in my OBI configuration,
I am not the first one who tries to connect his alarm panel
and OBI202 offers so many parameters that one of them may be my solution.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions/hints.
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby itiBi8 » 03/07/2018

Supplemental informations:

I change the FMT-CID on the alarm panel. Now both phones are using FMT = SIA

Then I activate the Phone Line test menu and it works 2 times out of 4 tests.


Also, on https://www.obitalk.com/ozone/alarm which use OBiTalk for configuring device,
There is an option in the OBiTalk menu: 'Use this service for a security alarm line'

Please note that I don't use OBiTalk to configure.

Can you tell me what this option generates ?
I assume that I can add manually those changes.
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/07/2018

I'm not familiar with your alarm system and probably won't be able to assist beyond this post.

I'm not sure if your alarm system uses DTMF. However, the first thing I would try is testing with DTMF mode set to RFC2833. And then if that fails, try InBand.

Navigate to Service Providers-->ITSP Profile (FPL)-->General--DTMFMethod

Uncheck the default box, and select the appropriate setting. Submit settings and reboot ATA.

You can also try asking at the Obitalk community forums and also at the dslreports VoIP forums: https://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php and http://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip
I suspect others may have better advice to offer.

The two hardest things to configure with the Obihai ATAs are the jitter buffer and echo canceller.

As azrobert and Mango point out over at https://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=8727.0, you can disable them on a per call basis (those are the posts you should take a look at). Both of those guys are really experts. Perhaps you can ask azrobert or Mango for help? They help out a lot over there, and they know way more than I do.

set($Noji1,200) disables the jitter buffer and specifies a 200ms buffer length
set($Noec1,1) disables the echo canceller


And then, if those need to be turned off, you can set those commands to an Obihai star code and have the alarm system (or modem, in this case) dial the star code.

set($Cdm1,3) means use only G711u and G711a codec

I doubt you need to use G.711a though.

Mango wrote:
16042999000,Modem Call,set($Noji1,200),set($Noec1,1),set($Cdm1,3),call(16042999000)


So, you can try setting that to an Obihai Star Code.

Then replace both instances of 16235941000 with the phone number you need to dial. Have the alarm system dial the star code.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby itiBi8 » 03/07/2018

Message removed by OP
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/07/2018

itiBi8 wrote:--- update #1:
Is there any problem if I set DTMF Method = InBand for both ph1 and ph2 ?


You can test at http://thetestcall.blogspot.ca/. You can call either the 416 or 250 numbers for free. Dial #. And then choose one of the options from 1 to 9. There’s a free echo test, DTMF test (check to make sure all your touchtone keys are recognized), Caller ID readback, etc.

Try the DTMF test. In general if you don't encounter issues with automated services (banks), I wouldn't worry about it too much.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/07/2018

itiBi8 wrote:Also, on https://www.obitalk.com/ozone/alarm which use OBiTalk for configuring device,
There is an option in the OBiTalk menu: 'Use this service for a security alarm line'

Please note that I don't use OBiTalk to configure.

Can you tell me what this option generates ?


As far as I know it doesn't apply to FPL:
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php? ... 9#msg63679
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby itiBi8 » 03/16/2018

@Liptonbrisk:
I test DTMF Method=InBand with your recommended phone test number (very useful, by the way; thanks for that hint)
and it works great, touchtone keys were recognized and I can navigate in the menu.

I also test it with an automated service (Costco) and it works correctly

but it failed with FPL Online Voicemail service (*98) which does not recognize my inputs !!

Any ideas ?
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/16/2018

itiBi8 wrote:@Liptonbrisk]

Any ideas ?


Not really. I can reproduce this issue.

The per phone port DTMF settings are located under Physical Interfaces-->Phone Port-->Port Settings.
However, in my testing they don't help this particular issue, and I'm not sure what's causing it with FPL's voicemail when DTMF is set to Inband.

One suggestion would be to buy another FPL VoIP unlock key using a different email address and set up the new account on a different SP (2, for example) for
exclusive use with the alarm system: https://forums.redflagdeals.com/free-ph ... #p21992603 (Fastlayne is basically doing the same thing).
If you decide to go this route do not use the same ProxyServer for both FPL accounts.
At the beginning of your Outboundcallroute for Phone 2 Port (Physical Interfaces-->Phone 2 Port-->Phone Port) you would need to have {1234567890:sp2} towards the beginning (left), where 1234567890 is the phone number your alarm system dials. Alternatively, you can change the PrimaryLine to SP2, using this example. Have one ITSP Profile DTMFmethod set to auto and have the other set to Inband.


With respect to using the same FPL account on different SP Services, only one registration per Freephoneline account is valid at any time.

Registration is required for incoming calls. It is not required (only the correct SIP username and password are required) for outgoing calls.
So the most recently registered device (or SP trunk) will ring for incoming calls, while the previous one will not.

One thing that I haven't tried, which would only be useful if the alarm system never requires incoming calls, would be to setup the same FPL account on two different SPs.
If, and only if, the alarm system never makes incoming calls, it would be interesting to see what happens if X_RegisterEnable is disabled on the SP used for the alarm system.
Voice Services--->SP2 Service. Under ITSP Profile B--General, you would have DTMF Method set to Inband.

Alternatively, if having X_RegisterEnable disabled works for outbound calls on SP2 without messing up registration (or inbound calls) with SP1, you could have Phone Port 1's primary line set to SP2, while Phone Port 2's Primary Line could be set to SP1 (with DTMFMethod set to Inband). Then your outbound calls on Phone Port 1 would go out on SP2 (with DTMFMethod set to auto). But I've never tested with a single FPL account on two SPs while having X_RegisterEnable disabled on one of them. I'm unwilling to test this as I simply don't have the time. I would also want to check whether using two different ProxyServers (Service Providers-->ITSP Profile--SIP) for each ITSP profile makes a difference (voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline,ca, or voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060). Keep in mind that when checking for registration issues, in particular for incoming calls, you may need to wait 60 minutes before the ATA completely loses registration with FPL and attempts to re-register.

If you happen to have access to another service provider, you could also access FPL voicemail using that service provider, but out of respect for Freephoneline, I’m not willing to discuss that further on their forums.

You can also try asking at the Obitalk community forums and also at the dslreports VoIP forums: https://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php and http://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip
Others may have better advice to offer. When posting, you might want to tell people that with respect to using the same FPL account on different SP Services, only one registration per Freephoneline account is valid at any time (and that matters for incoming calls) if they suggest registering the same FPL account twice.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby itiBi8 » 03/16/2018

Thank you for your fast reply. Very useful as usual ;-)

I will try this during the weekend and will be back soon.

Thanks again.
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby itiBi8 » 03/18/2018

I configure my ata per your suggestions and it work perfectly.

ph1 is use for in/out voice call + *98
ph2 is use for outgoing alarm panel (in CID format)

Physical/Phone Port 2/PrimaryLine=SP2
Voice Service/SP2/X_ServProvProfile=B, define AuthUserName, define AuthPassword, X_RegisterEnable=off
ServiceProviders/ITSP-B/General/DTMF=InBand, SIP/ProxyServer=voip.freephoneline.ca

Physical/Phone Port 1/PrimaryLine=SP1
Voice Service/SP1/X_ServProvProfile=A, define AuthUserName, define AuthPassword, X_RegisterEnable=on
ServiceProviders/ITSP-A/General/DTMF=Auto, SIP/ProxyServer=voip2.freephoneline.ca

Star Codes/Profile A contains
5149041111,alarm1 mode,set($Noji1,200),set($Noec1,1),set($Cdm1,3),set($Lbdt,1),call(5149041111)

Many thanks for your precious help.

Cheers,
ItiBi
itiBi8
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03/04/2018

Re: Need help adjusting parameters on OBI202 for alarm syste

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/18/2018

itiBi8 wrote:I configure my ata per your suggestions and it work perfectly.


Great! Thanks for letting me know.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests