FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Here you can post your own working configurations of hardware or software to share with other users who may be using the same device!
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo
Forum rules
DISCLAIMER
This forum is for those users who have already purchased a configuration file with the SIP settings needed to configure any SIP compatible device.

1. Please use this forum only as a means to share your configuration advice and guides for ATA devices and SIP clients that you are using with our service.
2. For any questions relating to device configuration, please use the other forum sections or post your question directly in the device topic that your question is meant for.
3. Please title your topics with only the name and model of your device so users can easily find the information they need.
4. Preferable format for posting here is compressing your screenshots of your successfully configured device into a .zip file, and post a brief description of the configuration.

Please stay on topic

FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby GenChick » 01/21/2019

mh1983, how is it working with the new firmware? Any issues?
I am still on 1.0.8.2 firmware with settings outlined in your 3rd guide. Sometimes people would call me on my mobile saying that they would get a message “User unavailable” (something like that!) and get a voicemail when calling my home phone. While I am sitting by the phone and it does not ring. Then I would reboot my ATA. When Call Logs are checked, you will see this “Destination out of order”:

https://i.imgur.com/QLNLLZv.jpg

This issue comes and goes, so I’m not sure it this is related to my old firmware OR old settings OR this is normal and everyone encounter this from time to time? :?
I just updated my settings how it outlined in your 5th guide. Should I update to a new firmware?
By the way mh1983, you should update your profile, as now you are using a new firmware. ;)
GenChick
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08/15/2017
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Distributel DSL
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Actiontec GT724WGR

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 01/21/2019

(Generic info)
Typically, for VoIP SIP services, especially for freephoneline, you want

A) a router that does not have a full cone NAT,

Visit https://www.think-like-a-computer.com/2 ... es-of-nat/.
Mango from the Obitalk.com forums writes,
“Use a restricted cone NAT router, and do not use port forwarding or DMZ. Restricted cone NAT will only permit
inbound traffic from the service provider you're registered to. If you have a full cone NAT router, it will allow traffic
from any source. This is probably not what you intend.
If you have a Windows computer, you can test your router using the utility here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,22292023. To run it, use stun stun.ekiga.net from a command prompt.”
Essentially, you download the stun-test.zip file; extract the stun.exe file from within the zip file to an easily
accessible location; use an elevated command prompt (visit
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-ru ... inistrator); change directory (cd) to the
directory or location where you extracted stun.exe (visit
http://www.digitalcitizen.life/command- ... c-commands); and type “stun stun.ekiga.net” without
the quotation marks followed by the enter/return button on your keyboard.
Asus routers, at the time of this writing, produce port restricted cone NAT routers, for example and are fine,
provided you’re using one with Asuswrt-Merlin, third party firmware installed.

B) a router that lets you disable SIP ALG if it's buggy,

To understand why SIP ALG often causes horrible problems, please visit
http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Routers+SIP+ALG (scroll down to the section on SIP ALG problems).

If you're dealing with a modem/router combo issued by an ISP or a router with SIP ALG forced on, you may have
to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 for the Proxy Server. The purpose of voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 is to circumvent
faulty SIP ALG features in routers.

C) a router that allows you to set QoS or assign highest priority to your ATA or IP Phone over all other devices on your LAN (local area network),

For a very general description of what QoS can do for you, visit https://www.voipmechanic.com/qos-for-voip.htm.
The basic idea is if you're torrenting or have a bunch of other computers, smartphones, tablets, etc. downloading and uploading (hogging all your available bandwidth), you don't want
your ATA not to have access to enough bandwidth to make or receive calls properly. So QoS or a Bandwidth Monitor feature (which is just another form of QoS) is a really good idea for VoIP users.

I often get an occasional relative complaining to me, "Hey my calls sound choppy." And then when I go visit, some kids are playing MMOs on a computer, while another person is downloading a huge file,
and another person is backing up files to a cloud service all at the same time someone else is trying to talk on the phone. All those devices, without QoS enabled, are fighting over available bandwidth along with the ATA.

and D) A router that lets you adjust both Unreplied and Assured UDP timeouts.

Thanks to Mango, many of us now understand that in order for ATAs to remain registered and working properly with a VoIP SIP provider like Freephoneline, in particular after power failures, the following conditions must be met:

UDP Unreplied Timeout (in your router) < SIP OPTIONS Keep Alive Interval (in your ATA; for Obihai ATAs this is X_KeepAliveExpires) < UDP Assured Timeout (in your router) < SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time:(or RegisterRetryInterval in Obihai ATAs)

“<“ means less than.

When a modem leases a new IP address, a problem can arise where prior associations using the old IP address are maintained in the router. When the ATA attempts to communicate using the old IP address, the response is unreplied, and then if the UDP Unreplied timeout is greater than the Keep Alive Interval (and UDP Unreplied timeout is often set to 30 by default in consumer routers) a problem arises where the corrupted connection persists. If UDP Unreplied timeout is, for example, 15, and the NAT Keep Alive Interval is 20, then the corrupted connection will timeout or close. A new connection will be created, and everything will work fine.

Another problem can occur when the Keep-Alive interval is greater than UDP Assured Timeout (often 180 by default in consumer routers): the NAT hole will close due to the ATA not communicating frequently enough with the SIP server. In turn, incoming calls may, intermittently, not reach the ATA. Again, X_Keepalives expires is supposed to be 20 with FPL.

(the above settings are making reference to those in Obihai ATAs)

Getting access to both UDP Unreplied Timeout and UDP Assured Timeout settings in consumer routers may be difficult, if not impossible. Asuswrt-Merlin (I would avoid any model below/less powerful than an RT-AC68U), third party firmware for Asus routers, does offer easy access to these two settings, which are found under General–>Tools-->Other settings. My understanding is that third party Tomato firmware has these two settings as well. So if your router supports Tomato firmware, that may be another option. Note that I will not be held accountable any damage resulting from failed firmware updates. Apparently, Mikrotik routers also allow users to change both Assured and Unreplied UDP timeout settings as well: https://forums.redflagdeals.com/recomme ... 2115672/2/

The keep alive interval for FPL is 20. The SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time is 120. I use 15 for UDP Unreplied Timeout and 115 for UDP Assured Timeout.



ISPs do not issue customers routers that can do all four things I just listed. Typically it's far better to have your own router with strong QoS functions and a restricted cone NAT firewall,
disable whatever SIP ALG feature is enabled in the router, and stick whatever modem/router combo your ISP gives you into bridge mode. For Bell Hubs, visit http://forums.redflagdeals.com/please-s ... r-1993629/. For Rogers, visit https://www.rogers.com/customer/support ... ridgemodem.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1781
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby GenChick » 01/22/2019

Liptonbrisk All my setting are set correctly on ATA. I have been using it this way for year and a half. I have just one ATA and no one else is using my credentials!

Thank you for trying to help, but your replies seems like generalized information! Being hard to understand, you keep giving references to Obihai ATAs :roll: (which clearly I don’t have) that brings even more confusion!
From my profile you should see that I am using modem/router combo that was purchased aftermarket (not provided by ISP). I cannot find “UDP Unreplied Timeout” or “UDP Assured Timeout” on my modem. I have settings to turn NAT “off or on”, I can see NAT Table, no other settings for NAT. My ATA displays “Unknown NAT”. My QoS never been set, as I do not know which numbers to input. :( Only one computer used for Internet, no other devices connected.
I have run suggested “stun” utility:
ESTUN_RES_NAT_RESTRICTED _PORT: Behind port restricted cone NAT
STUN: 1005
GenChick
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08/15/2017
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Distributel DSL
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Actiontec GT724WGR

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 01/22/2019

GenChick wrote:
Thank you for trying to help, but your replies seems like generalized information!


SIP is a protocol that shares basic characteristics across SIP providers and devices. More importantly, certain aspects of how Freephoneline functions is dependent upon individual router settings.

Being hard to understand, you keep giving references to Obihai ATAs


The related settings are described for your ATA. These settings also appear in your ATA. Simply because something else is mentioned doesn't mean that information doesn't apply to you. It does.


:roll: (which clearly I don’t have)


I'm well aware of what you don't have. Rolling your eyes at me isn't going to solve your problem, and I suspect, in general, that behaviour doesn't endear you to those who not only have knowledge but are also willing to take the time to assist you for free.


I stated, in my second response, "Typically it's far better to have your own router [with the features I mentioned]" for a reason.
There's also a reason why that information about UDP timeouts is duplicated in the PDF guide you're using.

Rest assured, I will refrain from attempting to assist you further. I wish you well in your future endeavors.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1781
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby GenChick » 01/23/2019

Liptonbrisk wrote:Rest assured, I will refrain from attempting to assist you further, especially since you have a clear understanding of how Freephoneline, SIP protocol, UDP timeouts, and your ATA operate. I wish you well in your future endeavors.

Liptonbrisk Well, thank you very much! :shock:
English is my second language; you dump so much new information/words on me that I heard for the first time in my life; I have to read it again and again, trying to understand it and then you get upset with me??? :roll:
GenChick
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08/15/2017
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Distributel DSL
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Actiontec GT724WGR

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 01/23/2019

GenChick wrote:English is my second language; you dump so much new information/words on me that I heard for the first time in my life; I have to read it again and again, trying to understand it and then you get upset with me??? :roll:


Do you generally ask for help and then roll your eyes at people, who probably have a fair amount of experience and aren't getting paid to respond, when they try to assist? I tend to find rolling eyes at people is almost universally considered offensive, regardless of the language spoken. Certainly, that's the case in Canada. Had you simply asked for clarification without rolling your eyes at me, I would have tried my best to answer further questions. As it is, this is now the second time you're rolling your eyes at someone who tried to help you.

By the way, your semicolon usage suggests to me that your English comprehension is better than some native English speaking people I know. I mean that sincerely.

I will say, so that you don't continue to pursue red herrings, that point A (types of NAT) isn't related to your problem. UDP timeouts and NAT corruption could be. If the issue is UDP timeouts, and if you're unable to use third party firmware or buy a router that allows you to adjust UDP timeouts, which, in my opinion, is what people who use SIP services should be doing, then you're left with adjusting the keep alive interval and failed retry timer settings, both of which are set to very specific recommended values by Freephoneline: https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... redentials. Increasing the Failed Registration Re-Try Interval (from 120s) will not harm anything. Reducing it can cause problems. Changing SIP OPTIONS Keep Alive Interval (20s), especially increasing that value, can cause problems. Or you could just keep rebooting devices after power outages, after you're leased a new IP address, or after your internet service drops and returns.

I wish you well. Goodbye.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1781
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby GenChick » 01/23/2019

Liptonbrisk, my apologies for making you upset! :oops: If we would talk face to face, you would see that I am a normal human being and do not roll my eyes on people.
Regarding my English and usage of semicolon is easily explainable: I am writing everything in MS Word, check for spelling, punctuation and different synonyms before posting it anywhere. Had to Google your “red herrings” expression in order to understand you. :)
I appreciate short and detailed explanation in your last message, as it was hard for me to swallow the previous messages, many technical terms I had to Google. It was walk in the dark forest for me! :? I am very happy with my modem/router combo, it uses NAT port firewall. I am afraid to put too much load by adding router on my power receptacle, as I have aluminum electric wiring in my old house. I don’t want to burn my house down!
I am grateful for your patience and thank you for valuable/priceless input in this forum! :)
GenChick
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 08/15/2017
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
Firmware Version: 1.0.10.3
ISP Name: Distributel DSL
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Actiontec GT724WGR

Re: FPL with HT-701 (Firmware 1.0.8.2)

Postby Fongo Support » 01/24/2019

Hello,

I am locking this post as this is for documentation only.

Thank you for your understanding.
User avatar
Fongo Support
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: 01/01/2013


Return to Device Configuration Sharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests