Questions regarding freephoneline.

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

Questions regarding freephoneline.

Postby consistency » 06/10/2018

Is it possible to register without a mobile number?

Is there any issues with calling 1800 numbers? Like tangerine bank, CRA, utility companies, etc...? I've red elsewhere that this is an issue with some Voip providers.

I'm not able to pronounce the number 3 very well. Is it possible to receive a DID without 3's?
- The rate center close to me is Streetsville, ON (http://localcallingguide.com/lca_exch.php?exch=157930)
consistency
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/10/2018
SIP Device Name: Obi200
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Fido
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Hitron

Share On:

Re: Questions regarding freephoneline.

Postby Jake » 06/10/2018

I'm pretty sure that I didn't use a mobile number when registering for the Fongo phone app. For FreePhoneLIne I think they ask for a number, but I also believe it is possible if you contact support via a support ticket ( https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new ) for help registering if you don't have a phone to use. It's changed a few times over the years, I know for sure I haven't used a mobile for the all the numbers I have with them.

There is no problems calling 1800 number. Short codes like 411 yes, but not free call numbers. 911 is the exception which works. https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/arti ... be-called-

This is the page of codes they offer https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/articles/212436806
When you register you should get a choice of a few numbers to pick from, or you should be able to keep refreshing until you get one you like. Again, it's been a while since I last registered and things may have changed. The best thing to do is run through the signup and see what you get. It's free to do so you will not lose much apart from a bit of your time.

Hope this helps.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Questions regarding freephoneline.

Postby consistency » 07/11/2018

I did as you suggested.

Would you know how many business days it takes for freephoneline to change(Not port) a telephone number?
consistency
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/10/2018
SIP Device Name: Obi200
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Fido
Computer OS: Windows 7
Router: Hitron

Re: Questions regarding freephoneline.

Postby Jake » 07/11/2018

I don't remember that every being talked about here so this would be a complete guess. I can only assume it would just be a case of opening your account and assigning a new number seeing as there is no other company involved, so I can't see that it would take them long. Any delay would be in the time it takes them to get to your ticket (they won't look at tickets over the weekend).

If you have put a ticket in and got a number, try sending a PM to Fongo Support and ask them about the status of it. Sometimes you can get lucky and they fast track the ticket. ucp.php?i=pm&mode=compose&u=7852
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: 10/18/2009


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests