why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/11/2019

I bought the VOIP unlock and have used VOIP for long. But now I find the IP address of my VOIP device often changes and I sometimes I can't get calls or call out. I now use Cannet cable internet, with the CGN3 modem. I already read and did as the official article said: https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... /212430746 But don't know if it is related with my device ip address.

Why does my device address often change between: http://192.168.0.12 and 192.168.0.13 ? I don't change its port on the cable moderm. How can I make the VOIP device address fixed at one address, say http://192.168.0.12? Thanks.
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/12/2019

Assigning static IPs has nothing to with FPL. The device’s IP is being assigned dynamically by your router. That’s why the IP changes.
Contact the company or ISP that provided your router and ask them to help you assign a static LAN IP for your ATA or IP Phone if that’s what you want. That’s a router function. https://www.howtogeek.com/184310/ask-ht ... my-router/

Ensure SIP ALG is disabled in whatever modem/router combo your ISP gave you. Alternatively, use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 for the proxy server.

Proper device boot order is always modem—>router (wait for it to be fully up and running first)—>ATA (or IP Phone).

If you need configuration help, specify the brand and model of the VoIP device you’re using, or visit viewforum.php?f=15.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/12/2019

Liptonbrisk wrote:Assigning static IPs has nothing to with FPL. The device’s IP is being assigned dynamically by your router. That’s why the IP changes.
Contact the company or ISP that provided your router and ask them to help you assign a static LAN IP for your ATA or IP Phone if that’s what you want. That’s a router function. https://www.howtogeek.com/184310/ask-ht ... my-router/

Ensure SIP ALG is disabled in whatever modem/router combo your ISP gave you. Alternatively, use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 for the proxy server.

Proper device boot order is always modem—>router (wait for it to be fully up and running first)—>ATA (or IP Phone).

If you need configuration help, specify the brand and model ATA you’re using, or visit viewforum.php?f=15.

Thanks. I don't mind the change of IP address of my ATA, but when it changes, I can't call out or in, I find. So I have to make it fixed. I will try to find a way.

I can't find the SiP ALG tab in my CGN3 modem. Why use voip4.... can solve the problem? Thanks?
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/12/2019

sincere wrote:I can't find the SiP ALG tab in my CGN3 modem.


That's because the option to disable SIP ALG in that modem/router combo has not been made available to CanNet users.
Consequently, that device (unless it's in bridge mode and is solely being used as a modem) is not good choice for SIP services in general.
Your Hitron CGN3 isn't just a modem. It's a modem/router combo or gateway. The router portion (SIP ALG is a router feature, as is assigning/leasing LAN IPs) of that device is what's causing problems.





Why use voip4....



See point B below (but if you really want to learn, read the whole post). SIP ALG features in routers typically listen to traffic on UDP port 5060 (and then corrupt/mangle SIP headers), which is the UDP port voip.freephoneline.ca and voip2.freephoneline.ca use, whereas voip4.freephoneline.ca uses UDP port 6060. Using voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 circumvents SIP ALG features in routers. Using voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 has nothing to do with Rogers, regardless of what you may have read. voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 has everything to do with circumventing SIP ALG in any router, regardless of what company issued it.


(Generic info)
Typically, for VoIP SIP services, especially for Freephoneline, you want

A) a router that does not have a full cone NAT,

Visit https://www.think-like-a-computer.com/2 ... es-of-nat/.
Mango from the Obitalk.com forums writes,
“Use a restricted cone NAT router, and do not use port forwarding or DMZ. Restricted cone NAT will only permit
inbound traffic from the service provider you're registered to. If you have a full cone NAT router, it will allow traffic
from any source. This is probably not what you intend.
If you have a Windows computer, you can test your router using the utility here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,22292023. To run it, use stun stun.ekiga.net from a command prompt.”
Essentially, you download the stun-test.zip file; extract the stun.exe file from within the zip file to an easily
accessible location; use an elevated command prompt (visit
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-ru ... inistrator); change directory (cd) to the
directory or location where you extracted stun.exe (visit
http://www.digitalcitizen.life/command- ... c-commands); and type “stun stun.ekiga.net” without
the quotation marks followed by the enter/return button on your keyboard.
Asus routers, at the time of this writing, produce port restricted cone NAT routers, for example and are fine,
provided you’re using one with Asuswrt-Merlin, third party firmware installed.

B) a router that lets you disable SIP ALG if it's buggy,

To understand why SIP ALG often causes horrible problems, please visit
http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Routers+SIP+ALG (scroll down to the section on SIP ALG problems).

If you're dealing with a modem/router combo issued by an ISP or a router with SIP ALG forced on, you may have
to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 for the Proxy Server. The purpose of voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 is to circumvent
faulty SIP ALG features in routers.

C) a router that allows you to set QoS or assign highest priority to your ATA or IP Phone over all other devices on your LAN (local area network),

For a very general description of what QoS can do for you, visit https://www.voipmechanic.com/qos-for-voip.htm.
The basic idea is if you're torrenting or have a bunch of other computers, smartphones, tablets, etc. downloading and uploading (hogging all your available bandwidth), you don't want
your ATA not to have access to enough bandwidth to make or receive calls properly. So QoS or a Bandwidth Monitor feature (which is just another form of QoS) is a really good idea for VoIP users.

I often get an occasional relative complaining to me, "Hey my calls sound choppy." And then when I go visit, some kids are playing MMOs on a computer, while another person is downloading a huge file,
and another person is backing up files to a cloud service all at the same time someone else is trying to talk on the phone. All those devices, without QoS enabled, are fighting over available bandwidth along with the ATA.

and D) A router that lets you adjust both Unreplied and Assured UDP timeouts.

Thanks to Mango, many of us now understand that in order for ATAs to remain registered and working properly with a VoIP SIP provider like Freephoneline, in particular after power failures, the following conditions must be met:

UDP Unreplied Timeout (in your router) < SIP OPTIONS Keep Alive Interval (in your ATA; for Obihai ATAs this is X_KeepAliveExpires) < UDP Assured Timeout (in your router) < SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time:(or RegisterRetryInterval in Obihai ATAs)

“<“ means less than.

When a modem leases a new IP address, a problem can arise where prior associations using the old IP address are maintained in the router. When the ATA attempts to communicate using the old IP address, the response is unreplied, and then if the UDP Unreplied timeout is greater than the Keep Alive Interval (and UDP Unreplied timeout is often set to 30 by default in consumer routers) a problem arises where the corrupted connection persists. If UDP Unreplied timeout is, for example, 17, and the NAT Keep Alive Interval is 20, then the corrupted connection will timeout or close. A new connection will be created, and everything will work fine.

Another problem can occur when the Keep-Alive interval is greater than UDP Assured Timeout (often 180 by default in consumer routers): the NAT hole will close due to the ATA not communicating frequently enough with the SIP server. In turn, incoming calls may, intermittently, not reach the ATA. Again, X_Keepalives expires is supposed to be 20 with FPL.

(the above settings are making reference to those in Obihai ATAs)

Getting access to both UDP Unreplied Timeout and UDP Assured Timeout settings in consumer routers may be difficult, if not impossible. Asuswrt-Merlin (I would avoid any model below/less powerful than an RT-AC68U), third party firmware for Asus routers, does offer easy access to these two settings, which are found under General–>Tools-->Other settings. My understanding is that third party Tomato firmware has these two settings as well. So if your router supports Tomato firmware, that may be another option. Note that I will not be held accountable any damage resulting from failed firmware updates. Apparently, Mikrotik routers also allow users to change both Assured and Unreplied UDP timeout settings as well: https://forums.redflagdeals.com/recomme ... 2115672/2/

The keep alive interval for FPL is 20. The SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time is 120. I use 17 for UDP Unreplied Timeout and 117 for UDP Assured Timeout.



ISPs do not issue customers routers that can do all four things I just listed. Typically it's far better to have your own router with strong QoS functions and a restricted cone NAT firewall,
disable whatever SIP ALG feature is enabled in the router (Asuswrt-Merlin is one exception), and stick whatever modem/router combo (typically garbage, especially for SIP services, like Freephoneline) your ISP gives you into bridge mode. For Bell Hubs, visit http://forums.redflagdeals.com/please-s ... r-1993629/. For Rogers, visit https://www.rogers.com/customer/support ... ridgemodem.

Again, proper device boot order is always 1. modem—>2. router (wait for it to be fully up and running first)—>3. ATA (or IP Phone).
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/13/2019

You are so knowledgable and nice. Thanks. I am ok with the voip.freephoneline.ca., not voip4.free.... Strange. But hope it can hold on. THanks again
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/13/2019

sincere wrote: I am ok with the voip.freephoneline.ca., not voip4.free....



You need to specify 6060 for the UDP/registration port when using voip4.freephoneline.ca.
In most ATAs, for the proxy server, you would just enter voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060
Otherwise, UDP port 5060 is used by default, which won't work with voip4.freephoneline.ca.

Then you need to reboot both your router (wait for it to be fully up and running first) followed by your ATA to help ensure NAT associations aren't corrupted.



1) Always check in your ATA, IP Phone, or SIP app to ensure you're registered. In some (Obihai) ATAs, this information is found under "SIP Status". In other ATAs, it may be found under "Registration State."

2) Also always check registration status after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings. SIP status needs to show "connected." If SIP User Agent is anything that you don't recognize, you've been hacked.

Registration is required for incoming calls. It is not required for outgoing calls.


Note that only one registration per FPL account is allowed at any time. When there are multiple devices/softphones using the same account, only the most recent registration is valid. The previous device will lose registration. This is especially important to consider if someone else is using your SIP credentials (username and password) that are found after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings (or if you're trying to register your FPL account with a smartphone SIP app or with another device). Registration is required for incoming calls. It is not required for outgoing calls. If you simply want to make outgoing calls using your FPL number, configure, but don't register the account, on the SIP app being used, with Acrobits Groundwire, for example, on a smartphone (there is no way to do this with the Freephoneline desktop application; the Freephoneline desktop application doesn't offer to option to not register). This is also important to consider if you're using Freephoneline's desktop application (don't have it running while using your ATA with the same FPL account). Additionally, keep in mind that if someone else is also attempting to register the same SIP credentials on another device where you live, too many registration attempts can result in a temporary IP ban. Always check registration status in the ATA and also your SIP status after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings. If you see a device listed under SIP User Agent that you don't recognize, you've either been hacked or someone else is using your Freephoneline SIP username and SIP Password.

Each time you reboot the ATA, it's attempting to register with Freephoneline again. If you attempt more than 10 registrations in 5 minutes (this is why the registration interval is important),
you may end up being temporarily IP banned by the specific FPL server the ATA (and/or desktop app) was sending
registration requests to. If you're temporarily IP banned, you could then try switching ProxyServer to a different FPL server than the one you were previously using (voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline.ca, or voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060), unless you need to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 because you have SIP ALG forced on in your router. The purpose of
voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 is to circumvent buggy SIP ALG features in routers.


https://community.freepbx.org/t/trunk-s ... ca/22479/8
"As May 2013, our servers will rate limit REGISTER requests to a maximum of 10 requests per 5 minutes. Each authentication round usually consumes 2 requests (digest auth), so it is a fair number given our guidelines. Also, it does not affect INVITES (which are also authenticated)…

This rate limit is applied per IP address as our service is tailored to residential Canadian users (ADSL/Cable)."

That's why the registration interval of 3600 seconds and failed retry timer of 120s in the ATA are important.
If the ATA loses registration for any reason, incoming calls won't work on it.


What is the brand and model of the VoIP device that you're using?
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/13/2019

Liptonbrisk wrote:
sincere wrote: I am ok with the voip.freephoneline.ca., not voip4.free....

What is the brand and model of the VoIP device that you're using?


Thanks. I have been using the Obihai 100 for many years, and ok.

Now, I configure like below, and it's ok now, though not sure next time:
ProxyServer voip.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 5060
ProxyServerTransport UDP
RegistrarServer voip.freephoneline.ca
RegistrarServerPort 5060

Or do you think it's better to be below?
ProxyServer voip4.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 6060
ProxyServerTransport UDP
RegistrarServer voip4.freephoneline.ca
RegistrarServerPort 6060

Can the Proxy Server and RegistrarServer be different like this?
ProxyServer voip.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 5060
ProxyServerTransport UDP
RegistrarServer voip4.freephoneline.ca
RegistrarServerPort 6060

Tks.
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/13/2019

RegistrarServer shouldn't be entered at all (should be blank), and, consequently, RegistrarServerPort can be ignored despite the PDF guide listing 6060 for it (doesn't matter).

If you specify "voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060" (without the quotation marks) for ProxyServer, you don't even need to change ProxyServerPort (can be left at default). The UDP port specified after the colon for ProxyServer takes precedence the last time I tested an OBi100.


Or do you think it's better to be below?
ProxyServer voip4.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 6060
ProxyServerTransport UDP


That's fine.

RegistrarServer voip4.freephoneline.ca


There's no need to specify RegistrarServer at all. Blank that out (which should be the same as having the default box checked).

RegistrarServerPort 6060


There should be no need to specify anything here if RegistrarServer is blank (both the setting and its port aren't needed when configuring FPL), but if you are going to specify something then enter 6060 when using voip4.freephoneline.ca.

ProxyServer voip.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 5060
ProxyServerTransport UDP
RegistrarServer voip.freephoneline.ca
RegistrarServerPort 5060


Don't use that for SIP ALG problems, which is a problem you may be experiencing if you can't disable SIP ALG in your modem/router combo.

Can the Proxy Server and RegistrarServer be different like this?
ProxyServer voip.freephoneline.ca
ProxyServerPort 5060
ProxyServerTransport UDP
RegistrarServer voip4.freephoneline.ca
RegistrarServerPort 6060


Definitely don't do that.

Follow the steps in the order listed:


1. If you used the Obitalk web portal (http://www.obitalk.com) to configure your ATA, keep in mind that you must continue using it to configure your ATA. Otherwise whatever settings you change will eventually be overwritten by what you previously entered at obitalk.com anyway. If you wish to disable this behaviour, dial ***1. Enter that IP address into a web browser. Navigate to System Management-->OBiTalk Provisioning-->select Disabled for the method. Save. Reboot ATA. Now obitalk.com won't overwrite whatever changes you make via the device's interface (via IP address).

Pick one method (obitalk.com) or the other (IP address of device) for changing device settings. Never use both methods.


2. Use this PDF guide: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=16196#p64070. Again, that guide really has less to do with Rogers than it has to do with using a router with SIP ALG forced on (applies to you).

3. Ensure that you (this is missing from the PDF guide)
Navigate to Service Providers-->ITSP Profile (FPL)-->SIP
RegisterRetryInterval should be 120 seconds.
RegisterRetryInterval is the Failed Registration Re-Try Interval listed at https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... /212430746

4. Navigate to Voice Services-->SP(number that you're using for FPL) Service-->X_UserAgentPort
Change this local SIP (UDP) port to something random between 30000 and 60000. Just pick a number in that range.
(Changing this helps thwart SIP scanners/hackers and may also help with SIP ALG issues as well involving certain routers). It's a variation on what Mango recommends (same thing, basically).

5. "Also from within Voice Services >> SP(FPL) Service, set X_InboundCallRoute to {>1xxxxxxxxxx:ph}
If the scanners do find you, this will cause your OBihai ATA to reject the call. (Note: replace 1xxxxxxxxxx with your FPL number.)" -- Mango

6. Submit/save.

7. Reboot modem/router combo. Wait for it to be fully up and running. Then reboot your ATA.

8. Should the issue continue to arise, then chances are you're dealing with UDP timeout issues (provided you have sufficient bandwidth to make VoIP calls). Those UDP timeout issues are best addressed by sticking whatever gateway or modem/router combo your ISP gives you into bridge mode and buying your own router with the specific characteristics listed here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=19589#p76453. Alternatively when the problem occurs, reboot your modem/router combo, wait for it to be fully up and running, and then reboot your ATA.


a. Always when you have problems, ensure that your ATA indicates that Freephoneline is registered. Dial ***1; you should hear the LAN IP of the device.
Enter that IP address into a web browser, and log into your ATA. Navigate to Status-->System Status-->SP1 (or whatever SP# FPL is configured on)--->Service status.
What does the status indicate? It needs to be registered.

b. Additionally when you have problems, check registration status after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings. SIP status needs to show "connected." If SIP User Agent is anything that you don't recognize, you've been hacked.

Registration is required for incoming calls.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/13/2019

Tks. I don't use its web portal, but configure using the IP address. I don't know if I have the SIP ALG issue or not, but I still do as you said to use voip4. It is ok now. Thanks.

You are very knowledgeable. Do you work for FPL, teacher?
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/13/2019

sincere wrote: It is ok now. Thanks.


You're very welcome!

You are very knowledgeable. Do you work for FPL, teacher?


Thank you for the compliment. No, I don't work for FPL. I believe all the moderators here are volunteers.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: why does my VOIP IP address change often?

Postby sincere » 05/13/2019

Liptonbrisk wrote:
sincere wrote: It is ok now. Thanks.


You're very welcome!

You are very knowledgeable. Do you work for FPL, teacher?


Thank you for the compliment. No, I don't work for FPL. I believe all the moderators here are volunteers.


Nice. I also volunteer a lot in the community. Together we devote love and knowledge to make it a better world. Thanks once again, sir.
sincere
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 05/11/2019


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests