FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby Avster » 06/21/2019

Hello guys,
I am currently using 'The Monitoring Center' for my home alarm and am having issues with using my FPL with calling out to the alarm center (recently upgraded from DSC to Honeywell vista 15p Alarm panel). The issue is the call actually gets to the center but doesn't send anything through. TMC is completely useless saying its my IP phone i tried arguing back saying it was never an issue with the old DSC but they are saying they saw minimal call drops since ever. but now nothing goes through at all. it calls successfully but doesn't report anything.

I am currently using 4x2 format and have tried CID as well.... same thing happens..... call goes through but nothing is being sent to them...
i check the FPL call log and i can see the call goes through multiple times, which is what the center sees as well, only problem is they just not getting any information on the call..... they are telling me "its like i call them and hang up" instead of sending them the data...
is there anything you guys know of that can help me with this? anything i can look at on my end ?

i am using the Liksys SPA ATA with the default FPL settings.
Inbound/Outbound Proxy: voip.freephoneline.ca
Registration Expires: 3600
Use Preferred Codec: G711U or G729a
Use Preferred Codec Only: No
RTP Packet Size: 0.020
Ring Tone Frequency: 52
Ring Tone Voltage: 90
Recommended Linksys Dial String: (911|[2-9]xxxxxxxxx|1xxxxxxxxxx|011xxxxxxxxxxxx.|*98|[6-7]x*xxxxxxxxxxx.)
Avster
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 01/25/2010
SIP Device Name: SPA 2102
ISP Name: Acanac
Computer OS: XP

Re: FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 06/22/2019

Avster wrote:H
Use Preferred Codec: G711U or G729a


1) Use G.711u codec only (Line tab-->Audio Configuration) Preferred Codec:

G.729a is an inferior sounding, lower bandwidth codec and can cause problems, in particular, for faxing and alarm systems.

Use Preferred Codec Only: No


2) Set Preferred Codec to Yes

3) Test again.


If you still experience problems,

4) change DTMF Tx Method to Inband (only do this if you're still having problems). This setting is found under the Line tab-->Audio Configuration section of your ATA.

Note that you will likely not have key presses recognized by Freephoneline's voicemail system with DTMF Method set to Inband.

5) Test again.

For alarm systems, it's typically recommended to also disable (set these to no under the Line tab-->Audio Configuration) the following settings for alarm systems:
6) Echo Canc Enable (change to no),
7) Echo Canc Adapt Enable (change to no),
8) Echo Canc Enable (change to no), and
9) under the Regional tab-->Miscellaneous, set More Echo Suppression to no.

10)Test again

If you still have problems, under the Line Tab and Network settings, it's usually also recommended to use a fixed jitter buffer for alarm systems:
11) set Jitter Buffer Adjustment to disable, and
12) set Network Jitter Level to extremely high.

13) Test again

Note that steps 6 to 9 will likely reduce voice quality for voice calls.

It's also a good idea to have a router can prioritize internet bandwidth on your LAN (QoS settings) for your ATA over all other devices. For an example, visit https://forums.redflagdeals.com/questio ... s-2138386/.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 978
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby vhterrones » 06/26/2019

Hi.

I have the same issue as posted above, but currently using Fongo Home Phone (not Freephoneline)... so can't access the settings described.

Any alternatives for my case?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks.
vhterrones
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/26/2019
ISP Name: Rogers Cable

Re: FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 06/26/2019

vhterrones wrote:Hi.

I have the same issue as posted above, but currently using Fongo Home Phone (not Freephoneline)... so can't access the settings described.



You're also not using the same ATA. Regardless, the same principles work across most devices: use G.711u codec only, try Inband for DTMF, disable echo cancellation (which will likely have a negative affect on voice quality, if that option is available), and do not use a variable jitter buffer (if that option is available).

I suspect alarm systems are not officially supported by Fongo Home Phone, but for Fongo Home phone support, you'll need to submit a ticket: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 978
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby vhterrones » 06/26/2019

Thanks. I currently have a Grandstream HT80.. however it won't let me log into it by using the default password (admin). Do you know if there is another way to change the options on the device?
vhterrones
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06/26/2019
ISP Name: Rogers Cable

Re: FPL and Home Alarm (TMC)

Postby Liptonbrisk » 06/26/2019

vhterrones wrote:Thanks. I currently have a Grandstream HT80.. however it won't let me log into it by using the default password (admin). Do you know if there is another way to change the options on the device?


Device configuration change requests need to be submitted via ticket for Fongo Home Phone users. Your ATA is tied to their provisioning server until you leave the service or port out. And I’m doubtful they officially support alarm systems, but you can ask.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 978
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron