Will my Canadian number still work from the US?

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

Will my Canadian number still work from the US?

Postby trevlac » 09/16/2019

Possibly moving to the US for work and wanted to know if anyone is aware if the service will still work from there using the Canadian number I have from FPL? I would like to be able to keep using the service with my current portable phone setup and the grand stream box I have.

Thanks to anyone who may know the answer!
trevlac
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2015
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Computer OS: Mac OS 10.10
Router: Airport Time Capsule

Re: Will my Canadian number still work from the US?

Postby Liptonbrisk » 09/17/2019

Yes, FPL will continue to work wherever there’s internet access, with the exception of countries that block international VoIP access. Keep in mind that FPL’s servers are located in southern Ontario. The further away you are from them, the greater the chance for increased pings (latency/delay) and jitter (choppy audio/dropped calls).
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Will my Canadian number still work from the US?

Postby trevlac » 09/17/2019

Thank you for the response. Much appreciated.
trevlac
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2015
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT701
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Computer OS: Mac OS 10.10
Router: Airport Time Capsule

Re: Will my Canadian number still work from the US?

Postby dlehtinen » 09/22/2019

I used freephoneline for around ten months in Reno Nevada, it worked well. When you go down to the US look into google voice. I use an OBI212 device that supports google voice and freephoneline
dlehtinen
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 02/02/2018


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests