Sim Card Activation

Have a question or problem with your Fongo Wireless service? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Visit The FongoWireless Support Knowledge-base for more.

Sim Card Activation

Postby Al3xe » 10/10/2019

I received my sim card today for my 2G wireless data plan. I activated it online as per the instructions provided.

I see Roger's name on the left corner as the carrier name and the connection bars are full, but I don't have any data.

I tried to restart my phone, removing the sim card and put it back, but it still doesn't work.

I sent a support ticket, but it might take a few days, so I was hoping to find help here.

Al3xeImage

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
Al3xe
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10/10/2019
SIP Device Name: HP PC
Firmware Version: SCSI\Disk________ST5
ISP Name: Vidéotron - Cable
Computer OS: Windows 8.1
Router: ZyXel EMG2926

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby hanke » 10/10/2019

Did you pre pay for the data service relating to the sim card?

Did you turn data on..for the data service on your phone?
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby Al3xe » 10/10/2019

hanke wrote:Did you pre pay for the data service relating to the sim card?

Did you turn data on..for the data service on your phone?
Yes, I prepaid for it on October 4th. That's how I ordered my sim card.

And yes, I turned the data on on my phone. I even tried to enter Roger's APN and still doesn't work.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
Al3xe
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10/10/2019
SIP Device Name: HP PC
Firmware Version: SCSI\Disk________ST5
ISP Name: Vidéotron - Cable
Computer OS: Windows 8.1
Router: ZyXel EMG2926

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby hanke » 10/10/2019

Al3xe wrote:
hanke wrote:Did you pre pay for the data service relating to the sim card?

Did you turn data on..for the data service on your phone?
Yes, I prepaid for it on October 4th. That's how I ordered my sim card.

And yes, I turned the data on on my phone. I even tried to enter Roger's APN and still doesn't work.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk


Not sure who your carrier is that you got the data plan from, but only choice you have is to deal with the carrier that you got the plan from. I know when I got my data plan from World Line Beta (which is from Fibernetics), I received my sim card, then had to log in to my account, pay for the data plan service which was linked to my sim card, payment was made and I had data service within minutes of paying.

Sorry I cant help you any further and hope you get it sorted out.
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby Jake » 10/13/2019

Mine has 3G or LTE when the data is connected, so I would suggest that something is not set up right.

Like Hanke I had to set up a data plan after my sim had arrived. I don't believe there was an option to do it before.

On one phone that I installed it on, I had previously got the carrier to disable data, so I had to install the APN. It was INTERNET.COM from what I remember.
I talked to a support tech the other day and he mentioned that Worldline had their own APN (go.net?)

Support will get back to you, but it being a long weekend it might take a bit longer than usual.

Do you have another phone you can try it in?
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby bridonca » 10/13/2019

I have the Worldline SIM card, I do not know if the Fongo SIM card is different.

For LTE, I use this APN

ltemobile.apn

I would make sure data is turned on in the phone, and reset the phone after each change.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Sim Card Activation

Postby Al3xe » 10/14/2019

Jake wrote:Mine has 3G or LTE when the data is connected, so I would suggest that something is not set up right.

Like Hanke I had to set up a data plan after my sim had arrived. I don't believe there was an option to do it before.

On one phone that I installed it on, I had previously got the carrier to disable data, so I had to install the APN. It was INTERNET.COM from what I remember.
I talked to a support tech the other day and he mentioned that Worldline had their own APN (go.net?)

Support will get back to you, but it being a long weekend it might take a bit longer than usual.

Do you have another phone you can try it in?
Yes, I tried.

Now it's been working for 2 days straight, so hopefully it stays this way.

That was kind of weird that it worked randomly after a few days

Thanks for the help.

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
Al3xe
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10/10/2019
SIP Device Name: HP PC
Firmware Version: SCSI\Disk________ST5
ISP Name: Vidéotron - Cable
Computer OS: Windows 8.1
Router: ZyXel EMG2926


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests