Account not registering

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

Account not registering

Postby rlongfield » 12/19/2019

For the past 2 days my ATA box isn't registering. I can't make outgoing calls and incoming calls are going directly to voicemail
I tested tonight with a SIP client on my cell phone and it won't registered either whether it's on my WiFi or over mobile data.

I see there is a migration happening but I am already using voip.freephoneline.ca and not an IP address. I also tried the secondary URL: voip2.feephoneline.ca but both my ATA box and SIP client App still report "Not connected"

Pinging the 2 URLs I get:

voip. - 208.65.240.44
voip2. - 162.213.111.22

Am I having issues because of the migration or is there more going on.
rlongfield
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09/06/2012
SIP Device Name: cisco spa112a
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Linksys wrt

Re: Account not registering

Postby Jake » 12/19/2019

The status page is showing a "degraded performance" whatever that might be.
https://status.fongo.com/

This might have something to do with it, my phone has been working fine all day though.

What does your status show if you log in online?
https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2725
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Account not registering

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/20/2019

Note that too many registration attempts (potentially exacerbated by using a SIP app in conjunction with an ATA) within a short interval can result in a temporary IP ban by the FPL proxy server you're attempting to register with.

In addition to what Jake wrote,

1) what brand and model modem are you using?

2) what brand and model router are you using?

Proper device reboot order is always Modem-->router (wait for Wi-Fi SSiDs to populate first)--> and finally ATA.
A hub is a modem/router combo. So device reboot order would be Hub (wait for Wi-Fi SSiDs to populate first)-->ATA if you're not using your own router.

Typically it's far better to have your own router with strong QoS functions and a restricted cone NAT firewall,
disable whatever SIP ALG feature is enabled in the router, and stick whatever modem/router combo your ISP gives you into bridge mode. For Bell Hubs, visit http://forums.redflagdeals.com/please-s ... r-1993629/. For Rogers' gateways, visit https://www.rogers.com/customer/support ... ridgemodem.

3) What Jake wrote is important: when you login at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings, do you see that SIP Status shows "connected" and that SIP User Agent indicates
your SPA112? If SIP User agent is something you don't recognize, you may have been hacked (possibly, someone else is using your account).

Registration is required for incoming calls. Registration is not required for outgoing calls.

Note that only one registration per FPL account is allowed at any time. When there are multiple devices/softphones using the same account, only the most recent registration is valid. The previous device will lose registration.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1334
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Account not registering

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/20/2019

You might be getting yourself temporarily IP banned (points C and D below) if you're making multiple registration attempts with both your SIP client and ATA. If so, unplugging your ATA and ensuring your SIP client isn't making further registration attempts for a couple of hours usually helps clear the ban.

The issue might also be DNS related (point F below), but if you can ping the servers, a DNS problem doesn't make sense unless you've specified different DNS servers in your ATA already that are causing problems.

I'm able to register with voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline.ca, and voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 right now without issue. I just tested.



Are Freephoneline’s SIP servers down? My ATA isn’t registered.

Your SIP Username and SIP Password can be found after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSetting


A. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check server status.

B. If the service status website doesn’t note any issues, then chances are the problem is on your end.
In your SPA112, Navigate to Voice-->Line 1 (or whatever you're using for FPL)-->SIP settings, change SIP Port to a random number between 30000 and 60000

Just pick a port number in that range. Change to a new port number in that range. Afterwards, reboot the ATA.


If changing the local SIP Port works, you were dealing with a corrupted NAT connection in your router.
Possibly a NAT router connection was never disconnected or never timed out properly. And, then, the
ATA keeps the corrupted connection in a persistent state over and over again. (Credit goes to Mango for
this information). Possibly, this problem is due to the router's UDP timeout being in excess of the ATA's
Failure Retry timer. With FPL, that's 120 seconds.

Thanks to Mango, many of us now understand that in order for ATAs to remain registered and working properly
with a VoIP SIP provider like Freephoneline, in particular after power failures, the following conditions must be met:

UDP Unreplied Timeout (in your router) < NAT Keep-alive Interval < UDP Assured Timeout (in your router) < SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time (Reg Retry Intvl)

“<“ means less than.


When a modem leases a new IP address, a problem can arise where prior associations using the old IP
address are maintained in the router. When the ATA attempts to communicate using the old IP address,
the response is unreplied, and then if the UDP Unreplied timeout is greater than the Keep Alive Interval
(and UDP Unreplied timeout is often set to 30 by default in consumer routers) a problem arises where
the corrupted connection persists. If UDP Unreplied timeout is, for example, 10, and the NAT Keep
Alive Interval is 20, then the corrupted connection will timeout or close. A new connection will be
created, and everything will work fine.

Another problem can occur when the Keep-Alive interval is greater than UDP Assured Timeout (often
180 by default in consumer routers): the NAT hole will close due to the ATA not communicating
frequently enough with the SIP server. In turn, incoming calls may, intermittently, not reach the ATA.
Again, NAT Keep Alive Intvl is supposed to be 20 with FPL.
Your PDF setup guide is found here: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=16206.

Getting access to both UDP Unreplied Timeout and UDP Assured Timeout settings in consumer routers may be
difficult, if not impossible. Asuswrt-Merlin, third party firmware for Asus routers, does offer easy access to these two
settings, which are found under General–>Tools-->Other settings. My understanding is that third party Tomato firmware has these two settings
as well. So if your router supports Tomato firmware, that may be another option.
The keep alive interval for FPL is 20. The SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time (Reg Retry Intvl setting in your ATA) is 120. I use 10 for UDP
Unreplied Timeout and 117 for UDP Assured Timeout.

C. Double check your Registration timers.

i. Register Expires must be set to 3600 seconds
ii. Navigate to Voice-->SIP-->SIP Timer Values (sec)-->Reg Retry Intvl should be 120 seconds
https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... redentials

If your ATA makes more than 5 registration attempts in 5 minutes (each time your reboot your ATA, it's attempting to register with Freephoneline; if the reg retry interval or Register Expires is too low, you also run the risk of getting temporarily IP banned), you may end up being temporarily IP banned by the specific FPL server the ATA was sending registration requests to. If you're temporarily IP banned, you could then try switching Proxy to a different FPL server than the one you were previously using
(voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline.ca, or voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060), unless you need to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 because you have SIP ALG forced on in your router. The purpose of voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 is to circumvent (buggy) SIP ALG features in routers.


From https://community.freepbx.org/t/trunk-s ... ca/22479/8
"As May 2013, our servers will rate limit REGISTER requests to a maximum of 10 requests per 5 minutes. Each authentication round usually consumes 2 requests (digest auth), so it is a fair number given our guidelines. Also, it does not affect INVITES (which are also authenticated)...

This rate limit is applied per IP address as our service is tailored to residential Canadian users (ADSL/Cable)."

If you're temporarily IP banned, you could then try switching Primary SIP Server to a different FPL server than the one you were previously using (voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline.ca, or voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060), unless you need to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 because you have SIP ALG forced on in your router. The purpose of voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 is to circumvent SIP ALG features in routers. Or you can disable FPL SIP registration in all devices (turn off your ATA) and wait a few hours until the temporary ban clears.

D. Note that only one registration per FPL account is allowed at any time. When there are multiple devices/softphones using the same account, only the most recent registration is valid. The previous device will lose registration. This is especially important to consider if someone else is using your SIP credentials (username and password) that are found after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings (or if you're trying to register your FPL account with a smartphone SIP app or with another device). Registration is required for incoming calls. It is not required for outgoing calls. If you simply want to make outgoing calls using your FPL number, configure, but don't register the account, on the SIP app being used. This is also important to consider if you're using Freephoneline's desktop application (don't have it running while using your ATA with the same FPL account). Additionally, keep in mind that if someone else is also attempting to register the same SIP credentials on another device where you live, too many registration attempts can result in a temporary IP ban.
Always check registration status in the ATA and also your SIP status after logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings.
If you see a device listed under SIP User Agent that you don't recognize, you've either been hacked or someone else is using your Freephoneline SIP username and SIP Password.

To help avoid being hacked don't port forward and don't use DMZ in your router. Do not use default device passwords for any devices connected to the internet.

E. For testing purposes, try disabling SIP ALG in your router.
For a generic example, visit https://www.obitalk.com/info/faq/sip-al ... ter-failed

If your router (modem/router combo or gateway) was issued by your ISP, contact your ISP for assistance.
Buggy SIP ALG features in routers can cause problems: https://www.voip-info.org/routers-sip-alg/.


F. If you don't believe you're IP banned, and if the ATA is completely unable to reach FPL's Proxy Servers, you may want to try specifying alternate DNS servers in your ATA. Google DNS is one example: https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/. You should only need to do this if you're experiencing a DNS issue.

G. Proper device reboot order is always modem–>router (wait for Wi-Fi SSIDs to populate first)–>ATA (in that order).
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1334
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:5921EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Account not registering

Postby rlongfield » 12/20/2019

Ok, So I attempted again today at lunch to get my SIP client on my phone connected.

I had no success until I double checked the password. I remembered having a big problem back when I first got FPL in 2012 with the browser font not showing the letters clearly. What I thought was a 'l' (lowercase L) was actually a 'I" (Capitol I -eye).

So now my sip client in connected. I need to see if my ata box at home will connect.
rlongfield
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09/06/2012
SIP Device Name: cisco spa112a
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Linksys wrt

Re: Account not registering

Postby Jake » 12/20/2019

They chose a terrible font to display the password. It's such a simple fix to make it display properly and would save so many problems like this.

You have shown that your account now works, so as suggested above it could be that you are getting yourself banned by too many registration attempts. Double check all timers.
Don't forget to shut down your sip client before trying your ATA or you will get problems there.

If you are using a Hitron CGN2 or CGN3 Modem you might want to try the alternative VOIP server.
https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... redentials
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2725
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Account not registering

Postby rlongfield » 12/21/2019

I did some testing last night and I found that Line 1 on my 112A box appears to have failed. I moved my config over to line 2 and it immediately started to work.

Thanks for all the suggestions and help!
rlongfield
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09/06/2012
SIP Device Name: cisco spa112a
ISP Name: Cogeco
Computer OS: Windows XP
Router: Linksys wrt


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests