BT Voyager 2500v

Here you can post your own working configurations of hardware or software to share with other users who may be using the same device!
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo
Forum rules
DISCLAIMER
This forum is for those users who have already purchased a configuration file with the SIP settings needed to configure any SIP compatible device.

1. Please use this forum only as a means to share your configuration advice and guides for ATA devices and SIP clients that you are using with our service.
2. For any questions relating to device configuration, please use the other forum sections or post your question directly in the device topic that your question is meant for.
3. Please title your topics with only the name and model of your device so users can easily find the information they need.
4. Preferable format for posting here is compressing your screenshots of your successfully configured device into a .zip file, and post a brief description of the configuration.

Please stay on topic

BT Voyager 2500v

Postby abdeljaouad » 09/18/2011

I successfully set VOIP FPL on a BT Voyager 2500v using this guide:
http://www.puzbie.co.uk/shopdata/gg_blo ... 99&cat=400
and replacing the registrar/obproxy/proxu by voip.freephoneline.ca and setting the codec to G729a.
I am able to successfully make outgoing calls. However, when I call the FPL number, sometimes it goes straight to voicemail and sometimes it rings and goes to a busy tone. PS. the phone attached to the VOIP router never rings.
Am I missing something ???
abdeljaouad
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09/18/2011
SIP Device Name: bt voyager 2500v
Firmware Version: 3.30dc
ISP Name: DSL IAM
Computer OS: windows xp
Router: bt voyager 2500v

Re: BT Voyager 2500v

Postby bridonca » 09/18/2011

I have no idea how this is going to help you, but you have a router in your BT Voyager 2500v is not doing it's job. As I have no access to the router, I do not know what settings are required, but freephoneline needs a SIP port like 5060, and an RTP port, like 12000 forwarded to the integrated SIP ATA. The problem is the router is not forwarding those ports to the ontegrated SIP ATA. And being this is a combo unit, I am not sure what the fix is. Hopefully there is a newer firmware update. Is this connected to another DSL unit, or is it connected directly to the phone line?
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: BT Voyager 2500v

Postby abdeljaouad » 09/18/2011

It is directly connected to the phone line. Since I can make outgoing calls, it means that the ports are open. Doesn't it?
abdeljaouad
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09/18/2011
SIP Device Name: bt voyager 2500v
Firmware Version: 3.30dc
ISP Name: DSL IAM
Computer OS: windows xp
Router: bt voyager 2500v

Re: BT Voyager 2500v

Postby TheHardy » 09/19/2011

abdeljaouad wrote:It is directly connected to the phone line. Since I can make outgoing calls, it means that the ports are open. Doesn't it?


Not necessarily.

Have you checked to make sure that you are running the most up-to-date firmware on your router? A lot of factory default firmwares are rather buggy for actual VOIP applications; I cannot relay the number of issues that have been corrected by a simple firmware update!

Cheers!
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: BT Voyager 2500v

Postby abdeljaouad » 09/28/2011

the thing is, the firmware of that router allows me to unlock it. If I update, it'll be locked again :S
So, I need to figure something out with that version of firmware !
abdeljaouad
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09/18/2011
SIP Device Name: bt voyager 2500v
Firmware Version: 3.30dc
ISP Name: DSL IAM
Computer OS: windows xp
Router: bt voyager 2500v

Re: BT Voyager 2500v

Postby bridonca » 09/28/2011

take a look at this thread, it might be of help to you. viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3024
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

inbound calls =/= outgoing

Postby TheHardy » 09/28/2011

abdeljaouad wrote:It is directly connected to the phone line. Since I can make outgoing calls, it means that the ports are open. Doesn't it?


Incoming and outgoing calls are handled differently, even though they accomplish the same thing. I have found a few other places where this comes back to bite people, not the least of which is buggy softphone setups and configurations!
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none


Return to Device Configuration Sharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests