Problems with Softphone - Please help

Share your tips, tricks and best practise ideas for Fongo services in here!
zensei
Just Passing Thru
SIP Device Name: Softphone
Computer OS: Windows 7 64bit

Problems with Softphone - Please help

Post by zensei »

I'm new to this, and am trying out the softphone. I have three problems with it.

1) Outbound sound is being chopped up and there's various amounts of static. Inbound sound quality is fine. Tried 3 different microphones, but I'm unsure what the problem is.

2) I can't receive any inbound calls at all. When someone tries to call it goes straight to voice mail for them.

3) Do I have to complete the registration for 911 or something in order to receive calls? The problem with this is, I have no other phone number, land line, etc. I had another VoIP line, but I got rid of it before getting this one. If I had known I would need another number, I would have registered for this before getting rid of it.

Any solutions would be most welcome. Thanks in advance.
Winston
Quiet One
SIP Device Name: GrandStream HT-286
ISP Name: Codetel, ADSL
Computer OS: Windows 7 ultimate

Re: Problems with Softphone - Please help

Post by Winston »

1- I would suggest you to open ports 13000-13001,6060-6061 in UDP in your computer.

2-Mm answer 1 + taking a look to the FollowMe option and see how long you have in "Seconds until voicemail "

3-911 service allow Freephoneline staff to verify that account is valid and it is necessary as well, honestly I recommend you to contact them to verify it in that case your account will be fully completed.
W.S
FONGO_kris
Site Moderator
SIP Device Name: Polycom 550 IP Phone
Firmware Version: 4.2.0.0310
ISP Name: Rogers Cable
Computer OS: Ubuntu 11.10
Router: Cisco E1200-N
Smartphone Model: Samsung Galaxy S2
Android Version: 4.0.3

Post by FONGO_kris »

Winstons' answers for 1 & 2 may fix both your static and incoming calls issue.