Fongo Mobile / Texting / Ad Removal

Have a question or problem with your Fongo Mobile App? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Visit The Fongo Mobile Support Knowledge-base for more.

Fongo Mobile / Texting / Ad Removal

Postby ABC123 » 08/08/2022

Hi,

I'm new to Fongo and I have read a lot on the Fongo web site and in this community support forum for the last 2 days to find out if Fongo is what I need. I know that my post is a bit long, but I wanted to provide as much information possible so it would be easier for Fongo staff or moderators to answer me and I would not have to reply many times with new questions.

SITUATION SUMMARY
Like many people wrote on this forum, I have an expensive landline home phone number with Bell for years and I don't want to lose that number. I make and receive calls on that number mostly for health and business issues (doctor, garage, stores, etc.). I have also a cellphone with a cheap Canada plan with Public Mobile (PM).

I'm now retired and my incomes have been reduced a lot. For the major part of the year, I will be living in a major city in Canada. But with some savings, I'm planning to spend a few months next winter in the south of USA. I would like to be able to use my home phone number at the lowest possible cost, considering that most of my calls are to family and friends with Messenger. For my cellphone, PM is perfect for me in Canada but they don’t offer interesting plans for using it in USA. I have WIFI at home and in the USA.

QUESTION 1 : Is Fongo mobile app the good choice for replacing my home phone Bell landline ?
I'm thinking about porting my Bell landline home phone number to Fongo and using it with the Fongo mobile app. I would then be able to :
-receive and make free phone calls to major cities in Canada while in Canada or USA (using WIFI);
-receive only free text messages from Fongo and Non-Fongo numbers (using WIFI);