HT802 ?

Have a question or problem with your Fongo Home Phone service? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Visit The Fongo Home Phone Support Knowledge-base for more.
Post Reply
clubplug
Just Passing Thru
Posts: 2
Joined: 09/12/2022

HT802 ?

Post by clubplug »

Hi

New to Fongo..
I noticed that Fongo only shows the HT801 model with 1 phone line. Do they also have the HT802 model with 2 phone lines?
Is it possible to use the HT802 instead?

Thank you.
Frank
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
Posts: 2769
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: FTTH
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: HT802 ?

Post by Liptonbrisk »

Support staff isn't obliged to respond on these user-to-user support forums.
To contact them for device information, submit a ticket: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new.
You can also call them at 1-855-553-6646.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at http://forum.fongo.com/viewforum.php?f=15.
clubplug
Just Passing Thru
Posts: 2
Joined: 09/12/2022

Re: HT802 ?

Post by clubplug »

Liptonbrisk wrote:Support staff isn't obliged to respond on these user-to-user support forums.
To contact them for device information, submit a ticket: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new.
You can also call them at 1-855-553-6646.
I did both on Sept. 11, still no answer and I even left a voice message on the above support line.

So I figured someone in the forums may have used the H802 model and would know the answer.
Sorry if I were wrong in posting the question...
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
Posts: 2825
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: HT802 ?

Post by Jake »

I have never heard of them providing the HT802 over the HT801.
The only thing I can suggest is the Unlock Key with FreePhoneLine which will allow you to use your own device (in which case you would buy your own HT802 to use). There are some differences in the services, mainly on the support side.

The Fongo Home Phone is meant to be a plug and play voip solution. They program up the ATA and can manage it remotely. Using a HT802 would imply you are going to be programming something up yourself for the second line. They want to try and avoid this as you could change something that stops their line from working and they will have to try and trouble shoot why. They want to keep things simple and just so people can plug a box in to get a phone line as easiest as possible.

If you are wanting to get phone lines in from 2 different companies, then I would suggest looking at FPL. It's has slightly higher setup costs, but has no monthly fees and gives you a lot more flexibility. You have to know a little bit about what is going on, but not too much, we do have a good support of guides and people here that will be able to help you.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
Posts: 2825
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: HT802 ?

Post by Jake »

clubplug wrote: I did both on Sept. 11, still no answer and I even left a voice message on the above support line.
Unfortunately their support isn't the quickest lately. They usually do respond, but it is far from instant.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
Posts: 2769
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: FTTH
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: HT802 ?

Post by Liptonbrisk »

clubplug wrote: I did both on Sept. 11, still no answer and I even left a voice message on the above support line.
Support staff doesn't respond on weekends, and as Jake mentioned, response speed isn't prompt.

https://status.fongo.com/
"Support System Status of support.fongo.com (replying to support requests)
Degraded Performance"
So I figured someone in the forums may have used the H802 model and would know the answer.
Freephoneline users have. Fongo Home Phone users have not, as far as we know. Whether Fongo staff will make an exception for you is unknown to me.
The reasoning Jake provided is sound. However, there's no technical reason why they couldn't, particularly if you want two Fongo Home Phone numbers.
Sorry if I were wrong in posting the question...
I just doubt you're going to receive an official response here.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at http://forum.fongo.com/viewforum.php?f=15.
Post Reply