[Resolved by replacing ATA] Clicking on Phone

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

[Resolved by replacing ATA] Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/26/2021

I have searching for a reason but am unable to determine why i have clicking when using pap2T.. Has been stable for many years.
SIP ALG disabled in modem.
I am losing my mind in trying things :
- bypassed bix block that was working fine with direct into Panasonic phone with 3 cordless units... new batteries ...
-swapped cat5 cable. for ata..
- unplug all power supplies separated them..

does improve when totally unplug ac power and reboot to ata... this last about 10second then get clicking like every second... clicks on dial tone and during conversations. get a few seconds after power down and off...

not running anything fancy DMZ etc.. all normal home stuff..

terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/26/2021

I doubt the issue is a router setting or any configuration issue. I suspect a hardware problem.

Try another power supply for the ATA.

Move your ATA out of the room. See if it works better in another room. If it does, check for possible interference from other devices.

Test by changing any and all phone cords attached to the ATA.

Check the ports on the back of the ATA. Possibly phone port 1 is failing. If so, disable FPL registration on Line 1, and configure Line 2. Plug phone into phone port 2.

Check to see if your ATA is genuine: https://www.ukvoipforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=565.
If it's fake, maybe it's dying. It could be dying, regardless.

Try a corded (not cordless) phone.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/27/2021

Seems it is a real ata not knock off..

dropped all connections into network except ata unplugging all power adapters except modem.... same outcome with clicking at slower pace and less intense...plugged ata into another room no change. . both direct into line plus through bix block. did a bit better direct but eventually pick up to regular clicking///

. drove to another house plugged into their network... using analog phone no issue.. crystal clear

plugged same analog into ATA at home worked NO issue...

plugged panasonic into another phone system (bell) no issue worked well as did cordless. My parents have a new phone + 3 cordless phones.

I am thinking it is the panasonic phone compatibility issue with ata- maybe interference from either a neighbor's house or inside mine....

have 2 vtec phones from a relative BNIB that were sitting just charging them... just with a minimal charge no clicking was heard .



terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/27/2021

terfed wrote:I am thinking it is the panasonic phone compatibility issue


Is it not a DECT cordless phone?

Possibly your wireless router (wi-fi) is causing interference. If you can, disable wi-fi. Then test.
Or unplug the router. Then dial **** and listen. Any clicking? If not, it's your router's wi-fi causing interference with the phone's base station.
Most DECT cordless phones shouldn't have that problem.

Could also be wi-fi from another device (computer/laptop/smartphone/tablet) or, less likely, a microwave oven. It would be odd for you to have a microwave oven running every single time you test.
Try moving the Panasonic base station away from wi-fi signals. Move the Panasonic base station away from possible sources of interference.
It's probably wireless interference issue from some device.

Since other phones work, you've discovered where the problem lies. Good luck.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/27/2021

i wish it was closed... Seems analog clicks after a few minutes (not sure of time) too. i think i may have pulled ata too early when testing outside of house... will repeat and run longer say like 15 minutes or more.

back to start... did try the other dect6 phones.. clicked as well.

just thinking , would a bad chip on ata board that gets hot cause an issue like that ? seems to get better for a few minutes when powered off /on for a few minutes..

will try to shut off wi-fi around house, will need to find a convenient time to do such...

terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/27/2021

Failing power supplies on ATAs have been known to produce clicking noises.
Capacitors can go bad after awhile in the ATA as well.
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=29433

Wireless interference can also produce clicking noises in cordless phones.

terfed wrote: drove to another house plugged into their network... using analog phone no issue.. crystal clear


So, I would expect the problem is not the ATA or its power supply.

I would try a corded phone at your place. If the problem goes away, it's a cordless phone issue. I could check for possible sources of wireless interference starting with your router.
Turn it off (or disable wi-fi), dial **** and listen for clicking when you hear the voice.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/28/2021

did some more "hack" trouble shooting..

used analog corded phone... initially no clicking (maybe an echo/short buzz hard to describe) able to call etc... seemed to last about 10 -20 minutes before returning... took longer for analog vs Dect 6 VTECH to restart the clicking...

shut down all wifi- unplugged all router except modem.. licking heard on analog phone after 10-20 minute mark, detect 6 was about 5 minutes...

will take to another house and wait at 30 minutes with plugged in with a phone... suspect it will return after some time... i might have been too much in pass/fail mode immediate response vs time delayed..

cycling of power seems to eliminates issue for some time period

Liptonbrisk, your ideas and direction have been very helpful/. Thanks

terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/28/2021

terfed wrote:
cycling of power seems to eliminates issue for some time period


If you happen to have another power supply/adapter that you can use for the ATA, try it.
You might also want check, while on a call, if the power supply feels abnormally hot.

This is for a different ATA, but failing power supplies/adapters is not uncommon:
https://forums.grandstream.com/t/ht503- ... spond/2463

Also, If the ATA is starting to go bad (capacitors), then as it begins to generate heat (through usage), the problem is more likely to occur.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/28/2021

f you happen to have another power supply/adapter that you can use for the ATA, try it.
You might also want check, while on a call, if the power supply feels abnormally hot.


does feel much warmer than any other AC power supply i have.. ATA feels warmer too than most of the other electronic stuff i have... feels warmer i think than i first got it 2011. cant be sure but is definitely warmer than a router etc..

I did buy a can of compressed air :) blew out back of ports inside ata (without cracking open covers)- would have if I knew how...

retried line 1 did work for a bit and started up clicking.. if it was summer would have used duct tape to string and dragged it behind my dyna on 401!

i did disable line 1 and go to line 2... Now i am really puzzled.. seems to be working on line 2 only , set up a second FPL account on line 1 got click instantly...disabled it just as fast..

i didnt realize you could be disabled from a network connection to access that with a phone phone + ATA.. for line 2 did **** call to ata menu sounds clear.. just checked about 4 hours after **** call seems to to be working again...


terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/28/2021

terfed wrote:
i did disable line 1 and go to line 2... Now i am really puzzled.. seems to be working on line 2 only , set up a second FPL account on line 1 got click instantly...disabled it just as fast..


Well, you can continue using your ATA until phone port 2 on the back dies as well.
The heat you’re describing doesn’t sound good. In the meantime, you might want to look into other ATAs for an eventual replacement.

i didnt realize you could be disabled from a network connection to access that with a phone phone + ATA.. for line 2 did **** call to ata menu sounds clear.. just checked about 4 hours after **** call seems to to be working again...


Yes, that’s the IVR (interactive voice response) built into the ATA.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/29/2021

Well, you can continue using your ATA until phone port 2 on the back dies as well.
The heat you’re describing doesn’t sound good. In the meantime, you might want to look into other ATAs for an eventual replacement.


started on port 2 today..dial tone sounded clear.... did some test calls in yesterday that appeared good.. today call Ministry of Transportation Ontario- figured I would get IVR all over and have a real call to hear now port 2 is clicking so IVR...

Do have a new grandstream 802 on way... seems that new ATAs are a challenge to find.....

i guess after 10 years at $60-70 for ATA i think it paid for itself...

terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/29/2021

Have your tried a different phone cord running from the back of the ATA to the phone base?

Are you using existing phone jack/house wiring? You mentioned bix block.
If so, have you made sure made sure that you disconnected the telephone company's line from the demarc?
https://www.voipmyhouse.com/#thesolution
If there's power running through phone jack house wiring from the telephone company, you run the risk of frying your ATA. That may also explain the clicking.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/29/2021

Have your tried a different phone cord running from the back of the ATA to the phone base?


yes.. about 3 chords 1 new one..

Are you using existing phone jack/house wiring? You mentioned bix block.


Tried both ways house wiring vs direct from ATA into phone.. no real difference got excited a bit there was no clicking... but it showed up..
\
If so, have you made sure made sure that you disconnected the telephone company's line from the demarc?

i have a two line jack that needs a jumper to get from phone company demarc into house line. jack one is phone company line in from demarc then jumper from jack 1 into jack 2 for house wiring. under normal condition I ran a phone line from back of port of ATA to feed into jack 2 into bix block to feed cat5 cable into jacks (like 4 of them). There was no issue for about 10 years... worked like a champ - odd reboot of ata... I need to review what i have inside the bix block check if a wire has not broken and shorting...

ring tone is sounds good until fast busy but as rings clicking starts then just becomes unbearable.

For entertainment... i ran direct into Dect6 Vtech phone from ata line 2... actually made a call... no clicking.... i have moved ATA into a much cooler room placed elevated (on my boot with max surface area exposed..).. see how long this will last.


terfed

lets see if it craps oyt
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/29/2021

Okay, it is a good idea to keep electronics in well-ventilated and cool areas.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/30/2021

was just thinking after I rea the internal section in the link for https://www.voipmyhouse.com/#thesolution. would a reversed polarity jack cause as long term issue to ATA? it seems it is equipment dependent for initial set up as it sounds like it works but maybe a long term effect? especially straight through pair vs cross over... wonder if that is something to consider..

I did check to see if the jacks were actually terminated. i know i was rushing to complete so i have to doubt myself.

I am still dumbfounded. day 2 no clicking on direct into ata.. it is irritating me as i like to challenge myself to figure out WHY...

terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/30/2021

terfed wrote:would a reversed polarity jack cause as long term issue to ATA


I don't know. That's something I've never encountered where I've lived. Maybe someone else can answer that question.


I am still dumbfounded. day 2 no clicking on direct into ata.. it is irritating me as i like to challenge myself to figure out WHY...


If the issue is heat related, then as the ATA heats up, the problem occurs. It's more likely to heat up while it's being used (and the longer it's being used). Heat can cause capacitors to expand and shorten their lifespan.
So you plug in (or reboot) the ATA, and initially it works. Then as it heats up, you hear clicking. That's one theory, and if it's correct, I would consider your PAP2 to be on its last legs/dying. Phone port 1 is affected more than Phone port 2 (based on your posts). You switched Lines, and you moved the ATA into a cooler room. Don't block vents on the ATA, and keep it away from sources of heat.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby terfed » 12/30/2021

noise came in line 2... ata is end of life... heat issue straight up...

New Grandstream HT802 arrived tonight... configured according sticky ... easier than cisco/linksys pap2t..

wouldnt you know.. first call incoming was to clean my ducts,.,.,.. unfortunatley was able to hear the pitch clearly... :( literally within first 2 minutes of boot up with phone...


terfed
terfed
Quiet One
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 05/09/2011
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT802
Firmware Version: 1.0.31.1
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: W10
Router: CGNM-3550 hitron

Re: Clicking on Phone

Postby Liptonbrisk » 12/31/2021

Page 36 of the admin guide for your ATA mentions a blacklist for incoming calls feature: http://www.grandstream.com/sites/defaul ... _guide.pdf.
Also https://forums.grandstream.com/t/ht802- ... king/44167

You would find that feature under the advanced settings section of your ATA's web user interface.


The number you enter in the blacklist should look exactly as it does in your FPL call logs: https://www.freephoneline.ca/doGetCallLogs.

So, if you want, you can block that duct cleaning number. I don't recommend answering calls from numbers you don't recognize.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: Obihai 202/2182, Groundwire
Firmware Version: various
ISP Name: gateway/hub in bridge mode
Computer OS: Windows 64 bit
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin & others


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests