Worldline 5GB of data for $20

This section is for general discussions surrounding digital phone service.

Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby bridonca » 02/15/2019

It appears Fibernetics (parent company of Fongo) is sticking their toes out in the wireless market! I have not gotten any more info than what is on the web page, but this is another option. I hear this uses the Rogers network, and the beta is only for southern Ontario for now. https://www.worldline.ca/beta-signup/
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby bridonca » 02/15/2019

I got in the beta program! Getting my SIM card mailed out to me! I am in Halifax, so we will see how that goes!
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/15/2019

I signed up as well, today awaiting confirmation. How do you make payment for the monthly service?
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby bridonca » 02/15/2019

hanke wrote:I signed up as well, today awaiting confirmation. How do you make payment for the monthly service?

I would assume with a credit card. That is how I bought the SIM card. There might be other options, but then again, it is a beta program, so expectations on much polish should be low, at this time!
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/15/2019

bridonca wrote:
hanke wrote:I signed up as well, today awaiting confirmation. How do you make payment for the monthly service?

I would assume with a credit card. That is how I bought the SIM card. There might be other options, but then again, it is a beta program, so expectations on much polish should be low, at this time!


Ok thanks, will see how the process goes.
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/24/2019

Ok...got my worldline sim card today ...before I install it just wondering how things worked out for you. Did you install/activate the service?

Thanks
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby bridonca » 02/24/2019

I did not get the SIM card yet.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/24/2019

OK..guess I will have to take the plunge...will do tomorrow and let you know here.

On another note, I believe the Forum date is incorrect, out by a day. I sent the last msg to you about 4 hrs previous and date shows as Sunday. My UTC time shift is correct. Anyhow guess it will sort itself out eventually.
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby Jake » 02/25/2019

hanke wrote:On another note, I believe the Forum date is incorrect, out by a day.


If you look in your board settings you can see if it is set there correctly ucp.php?i=165
Also at the bottom right of every page it should say what the UTC time the board is in.
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/25/2019

Well, the time is not set correctly there. I cannot change any time setting and my computer time is correct as I type this and its out a day. Let me know what you time setting is set at since to me its not correct. I replied Tuesday 26 Feb 2019 at approx 0930 local time.
Attachments
FireShot Capture 018 - Fongo Community Forums • View topic -_ - http___forum.fongo.com_viewtopic.php.jpg
FireShot Capture 018 - Fongo Community Forums • View topic -_ - http___forum.fongo.com_viewtopic.php.jpg (27.25 KiB) Viewed 4158 times
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/25/2019

Activated the Worldline Data Sim card today. The sim card is marked as a Rogers sim and runs on the Rogers network and being in Burlington Ontario the Rogers network is fairly good. I will have to see how things work as I travel about. I do not have a cell service for my phone so I will be relying on the Fongo android application. The login to your account (web portal) allows you to see your current data usage and manage your sim cards should you have more than one. I have attached the agreement before you activate the sim card.
Attachments
Account - https___beta.worldline.ca_myaccount_services_order_sim_plan_confirm.jpg
Account - https___beta.worldline.ca_myaccount_services_order_sim_plan_confirm.jpg (102.89 KiB) Viewed 4157 times
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby bridonca » 02/25/2019

I got it activated today. Seems to work fine so far in Halifax. I want to test it out to see if the SIM does extended coverage on Bell/Telus towers tomorrow. I doubt it will work, because it is not advertised.

I do not seem to need to install a Worldline client, which is nice. I am using my existing Fongo client, and it seems to be able to receive incoming calls.
A phone number appears not get assigned for my SIM, which is interesting. Has no effect on the data of course.

Just did a quick speed test, got 1.3 megabyte/sec result, which was using Band 7 LTE, on the 2600 mhz band. So it looks like this SIM is capable to use the full Rogers network.
User avatar
bridonca
Technical Support
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11/16/2009
SIP Device Name: Netgear WGR615V
Firmware Version: latest
ISP Name: Eastlink
Computer OS: XP

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby Jake » 02/27/2019

hanke wrote:Well, the time is not set correctly there. I cannot change any time setting and my computer time is correct as I type this and its out a day. Let me know what you time setting is set at since to me its not correct. I replied Tuesday 26 Feb 2019 at approx 0930 local time.


We are kind of cross posting here, but it looks like you are right, the time is well out of whack!
time.jpg
time.jpg (15.77 KiB) Viewed 3859 times


Not sure there is much that can be done about that.

Edit*
Even the post I just made ~9:30am is showing as 2:03pm yesterday.... :roll:
User avatar
Jake
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: 10/18/2009

Re: Worldline 5GB of data for $20

Postby hanke » 02/27/2019

Good that I am not wrong, nice to know. I sent an email to Fongo_Jeff yesterday who is supposedly an admin of the forums but not sure if he is in fact still an admin. Guess who ever controls the board here need to make a time/date correction for the system.

Thanks for the reply...

PS - Bridonca has also stated the same of the boards time/date error.
hanke
Active Poster
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron