Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Important and exciting updates from Fongo!

Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby FONGO_Announcements » 03/19/2012

On Sunday March 18th, Fongo experienced a call services outage. One of our software vendors' systems encountered an internal issue which resulted in downtime for the majority of our users. After investigation of the issue we chose to transition users to a backup system to restore service. Users were transitioned over the course of the day with a large portion being complete at 1:30pm, followed by another portion at 6:30pm and finally the remaining users around midnight.

We apologize wholeheartedly for any inconvenience this may have caused and are working with our partners to prevent these types of outages in the future.
User avatar
FONGO_Announcements
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 02/02/2012

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby DHANJAL » 03/19/2012

hi
we all hope this type of outage will never happen again in future .
wish good luck to all FPL for long life
DHANJAL
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 07/24/2011
SIP Device Name: HT-502
ISP Name: Techsavvy
Computer OS: windows
Router: D-Link

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby fcard » 03/19/2012

Everything is working in Niagara. Thanks for the updates and all the hard work.
fcard
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03/18/2012
SIP Device Name: Grandstream HT287 Rev4.1
Computer OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby Cobralegend » 03/19/2012

Still not working in Woodstock, Ontario. Hope everything will start working soon.
Cobralegend
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03/19/2012
ISP Name: Roger
Computer OS: Vindows 7
Router: SMC8014W-G

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby TheHardy » 03/19/2012

Cobralegend wrote:Still not working in Woodstock, Ontario. Hope everything will start working soon.


That's odd, almost everyone else seems to be up and running. ATA or softphone? If it is an ATA, have you tried resetting it? You may need to load the new settings by rebooting it ...

Failing that, a call to customer support or a PM to Steve should do the trick.

Others here may have a suggestion also, if you post some more info!
Hardy - Surrey, BC ~~ increasingly disgruntled FPL user ... comon, fix your stuff!
driver/webmaster - INCARTA Professional Delivery & Moving -- http://www.incarta.ca 604-594-7126
User avatar
TheHardy
***Übergod***
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: 08/13/2011
Location: Surrey, BC
SIP Device Name: FPL PC softphone (buggy)
Firmware Version: 3.0.3.0
ISP Name: Telus Optik
Computer OS: Win7
Router: Actiontec V1000H
Smartphone Model: none

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/21/2012

I am getting a dial tone, but I cannot call out or in. I am in Toronto.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/21/2012

What router are you using and have you forwarded the required ports from it to the ATA? Fongo services seem to be working OK at present.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

I have a TP-Link TL-WR941ND. My ATA is actually attatched to my ethernet card and I am getting a wireless connection to the router for the internet. Every was working with this configuration.

I have tried forwarding the ports, but I haven't needed to do so in the past. I have also tried using a STUN server, and every combination I know.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

This is the Status Report of the ATA (Handy Tone 236)

IP Address: 192.168.13.100
Product Model: HT287 Rev4.1
Software Version: Program-- 1.1.0.42 Bootloader-- 1.1.0.1 HTML-- 1.1.0.42 VOC-- 1.0.0.13
System Up Time: 0 day(s) 17 hour(s) 8 minute(s)
Registered: Yes
PPPoE Link Up: disabled
NAT: detected NAT type is symmetric NAT
NAT Mapped IP: 209.141.163.205
NAT Mapped Port: 61868
Total Inbound Calls: 0
Total Outbound Calls: 0
Total Missed Calls: 0
Total Call Time (in minutes): 0
Total SIP Message Sent: 157
Total SIP Message Received: 46
Total RTP Packet Sent: 0
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby marginal » 03/22/2012

t.morrissey wrote:I have a TP-Link TL-WR941ND. My ATA is actually attatched to my ethernet card and I am getting a wireless connection to the router for the internet. Every was working with this configuration.

I have tried forwarding the ports, but I haven't needed to do so in the past. I have also tried using a STUN server, and every combination I know.

It's the first time I am seeing such a configuration ...
Is it possible to work?
User avatar
marginal
Active Poster
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 04/17/2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
SIP Device Name: Linksys PAP2-NA
Firmware Version: 3.3.14
ISP Name: Acanac
Computer OS: Ubuntu / XP

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

marginal wrote:
t.morrissey wrote:I have a TP-Link TL-WR941ND. My ATA is actually attatched to my ethernet card and I am getting a wireless connection to the router for the internet. Every was working with this configuration.

I have tried forwarding the ports, but I haven't needed to do so in the past. I have also tried using a STUN server, and every combination I know.

It's the first time I am seeing such a configuration ...
Is it possible to work?



Yes, I have had it working for over a year.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

"NAT: detected NAT type is symmetric NAT"
We need to locate the problem........
STUN does not work with symmetric NAT so it will not help you here. (Note: If you try STUN always be prepared to remove it if it does not help :) )
You say that your Voip worked OK for over a year so something must have changed. Have you upgraded the firmware in your router perhaps or added a new device to your network?
First, remove STUN if it is still there then power down your router and phone. Disconnect the phone and other devices connected to your router, attach the phone directly to the router, wait 5 minutes and then power up your router and then your phone. Test the phone. Report here.

You are actually running the phone from your computer ethernet connection so you need to worry about the computer set up as well. If you forward ports it may have to be to the computer IP address first and then to the phone depending on your configuration. Exactly how have you configured the computer? You are using an HT286?
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

I have reconfigured as you instructed. I am getting the same result. I get a dial tone and I appear to be registered, but I have no services.

The following is the ATA, an HT286, Status Report:

IP Address: 192.168.1.100
Product Model: HT287 Rev4.1
Software Version: Program-- 1.1.0.42 Bootloader-- 1.1.0.1 HTML-- 1.1.0.42 VOC-- 1.0.0.13
System Up Time: 0 day(s) 0 hour(s) 17 minute(s)
Registered: Yes
PPPoE Link Up: disabled
NAT: Not detected
NAT Mapped IP: 0.0.0.0
NAT Mapped Port: 0
Total Inbound Calls: 0
Total Outbound Calls: 0
Total Missed Calls: 0
Total Call Time (in minutes): 0
Total SIP Message Sent: 10
Total SIP Message Received: 2
Total RTP Packet Sent: 0
Total RTP Packet Received: 0
Total RTP Packet Loss: 0

Regarding my PC configuration:

Again, yes, I am using a HT286 ATA. I basically just used windows setup wizard to share my wireless connection. I did not have to forward any ports on my router or on the PC. I am using Wireshark to monitor the connection so I know I am getting communication between the ATA and voip.freephoneline.ca
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

Try what I asked you to try to make sure that the where the problem is (i.e. bypass the computer temporarily). If the ATA works in that configuration then we can guess that the problem is with the PC configuration. Since you are running Microsoft Windows you will have to make sure that it allows the required ports through. It is possible that one of the many updates has changed something if you haven't. If the ATA cannot be made to work on the router then the problem is probably with the ATA.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

t.morrissey wrote:I have reconfigured as you instructed. I am getting the same result. I get a dial tone and I appear to be registered, but I have no services.

The following is the ATA, an HT286, Status Report:

IP Address: 192.168.1.100
Product Model: HT287 Rev4.1
Software Version: Program-- 1.1.0.42 Bootloader-- 1.1.0.1 HTML-- 1.1.0.42 VOC-- 1.0.0.13
System Up Time: 0 day(s) 0 hour(s) 17 minute(s)
Registered: Yes
PPPoE Link Up: disabled
NAT: Not detected
NAT Mapped IP: 0.0.0.0
NAT Mapped Port: 0
Total Inbound Calls: 0
Total Outbound Calls: 0
Total Missed Calls: 0
Total Call Time (in minutes): 0
Total SIP Message Sent: 10
Total SIP Message Received: 2
Total RTP Packet Sent: 0
Total RTP Packet Received: 0
Total RTP Packet Loss: 0

Regarding my PC configuration:

Again, yes, I am using a HT286 ATA. I basically just used windows setup wizard to share my wireless connection. I did not have to forward any ports on my router or on the PC. I am using Wireshark to monitor the connection so I know I am getting communication between the ATA and voip.freephoneline.ca



This test was without STUN, connected to the router directly. It appears to be no different than when it is connected through my PC.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

You seem to have the same IP address for the ATA in both tests. I don't think that is correct .... what IP address does your computer get from the router?
The ATA address when connected to the to the computer should be in the 192.168.0.x range because I think that is all XP ICS would issue.
If you have set a fixed IP in the ATA try returning it to DHCP.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

its 192.168.1.100 when it is connected directly to the router.
its 192.168.13.100 when it is connect through my PC.

I believe I have the IP configurations set up correctly. It seems to be getting some kind of communication.

Why else would I get a dial tone?

I am using static IP addresses. I have my gateways or whatever. Like I said, this used to work perfectly.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

What is the address of the PC that the ATA is connected with?
Unless the online info is incorrect the ATA should have an address 192.168.0.x
If the ATA configured to:
IP Address: dynamically assigned via DHCP ?
or to a fixed IP?
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

t.morrissey wrote:its 192.168.1.100 when it is connected directly to the router.
its 192.168.13.100 when it is connect through my PC.

I believe I have the IP configurations set up correctly. It seems to be getting some kind of communication.

Why else would I get a dial tone?

I am using static IP addresses. I have my gateways or whatever. Like I said, this used to work perfectly.


My PC's IP address is 192.168.1.101, so there is no conflict. The ethernet card on my PC is set as 192.168.13.1 which has been eliminated for the purpose of this demonstration.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

I don't use Microsoft Windows so I don't know much about it and never used XP (I have a copy of Win 98 that used ICS with for a while)

What is the IP address of the computer? I want to eliminate all of the possible simple problems.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby t.morrissey » 03/22/2012

t.morrissey wrote:
t.morrissey wrote:its 192.168.1.100 when it is connected directly to the router.
its 192.168.13.100 when it is connect through my PC.

I believe I have the IP configurations set up correctly. It seems to be getting some kind of communication.

Why else would I get a dial tone?

I am using static IP addresses. I have my gateways or whatever. Like I said, this used to work perfectly.


My PC's IP address is 192.168.1.101, so there is no conflict. The ethernet card on my PC is set as 192.168.13.1 which has been eliminated for the purpose of this demonstration.


I don't understand why I am having problems. This doesn't make any sense.
User avatar
t.morrissey
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11/19/2011
SIP Device Name: Handy Tone 286
Firmware Version: 1.1.0.42
ISP Name: CIKtel.com
Computer OS: Windows XP (used as a router to ATA)
Router: TP-Link TL-WR941ND wireless

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby dibsmft » 03/22/2012

That may clear up that possible problem area I guess the Win XP information that I found was incorrect. When you forwarded ports from the router, where did you forward them to? You would have need to forward to 192.168.1.101 the IP of the PC.
dibsmft
*Go-To Guy*
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 05/11/2011
Location: St. John's NL
SIP Device Name: Yealink T22 (SPA3102 GS286)
Firmware Version: 7.60.0.110
ISP Name: Bell-Aliant DSL
Computer OS: Linux Mint
Router: Speedstream 6520
Smartphone Model: Google Nexus 5
Android Version: 3.2.1

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby FREEA_k » 03/23/2012

I am having similar problem today. haven't noticed the interruption on 18th. it was working fine till last night but today morning my spa is not registering. i tried restting and reboot the network but still failed...

something has to be fixed somewhere.
i have pinged voip.freephoneline.ca and its fine, pinging with in 30ms.

the softphone also giving problems. it does make/recieve call when i start but then have problems in disconnecting call , and calling agian.

what else i can test out to fix this.

**EDIT *** the spa got registered itself after 4 hours... .. FIXED
FREEA_k
Just Passing Thru
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 02/20/2011
SIP Device Name: linksys pap2, pbxes, voxalot
ISP Name: cable
Computer OS: vista

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby shammi » 04/04/2012

Is this another downtime right now 8:26 PM (Mountain), please let us know if it is... and how long it would stay like this.
Thanks
shammi
One Hit Wonder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 04/04/2012
SIP Device Name: obihai 110
Firmware Version: 3
ISP Name: shaw
Computer OS: mac
Router: none

Re: Service Interruption Explanation - March 18, 2012

Postby hanke » 04/04/2012

Looks like its down. Down here in Burlington, Ontario. No ATA registration at this time.
hanke
Lightly Seasoned
 
Posts: 177
Joined: 06/09/2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario
SIP Device Name: SPA3102
Firmware Version: 5.2.13(GW002)
ISP Name: Cogeco Cable
Router: DPC3848VM (Modem/Router)

Next

Return to Fongo Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests