[Resolved] Adding a second account

Have a question or problem with your Fongo application? This forum is the place to get help from both staff and fellow community members.
Fongo recommends Fongo Home Phone for a fully supported Home Phone system for only $4.95/mo

[Resolved] Adding a second account

Postby streetcore » 03/24/2022

Hi everyone,

I've had one freephoneline number for several years that I use for a small part-time business and would now like to port our home number to FPL as well. I currently have an OBI200 and was thinking I could replace that with the Grandstream GS-HT812 since it allows for two phone lines. Is this the best way to go or is there another adapter I should be looking at, or perhaps two separate adapters are better? Any other issues with two FPL numbers I should be aware of?

Thanks very much.
streetcore
Quiet One
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 11/19/2012
Location: Canada
SIP Device Name: OBihai OBi200
Firmware Version: 3.1.1 (Build: 5463EX
ISP Name: Cogeco (Cable)
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6, Windows 8
Router: D-Link DIR-615

Re: Adding a second account

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/24/2022

streetcore wrote: I currently have an OBI200 and was thinking I could replace that with the Grandstream GS-HT812 since it allows for two phone lines


An OBi200 supports up to 4 SIP trunks and 8 voice gateways. You can have up to 4 FPL numbers for incoming calls on an OBi200.
Incoming calls from both numbers would ring the same phone line. If you don't mind having incoming calls from both FPL numbers ring the same phone line, then you don't need another ATA.

You could also configure the OBi200 as a minipbx and ring a smartphone with a SIP app for the second FPL number: https://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=4944.0.
Unfortunately, I don't have time to provide configuration instructions for that.
If you want you can ask on the Obitalk forums or at https://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip.


Is this the best way to go or is there another adapter


If you are comfortable with Obihai ATAs, you can get an OBi302 that has two phone ports here: https://www.acrovoice.ca/obistore/.
Using official firmware, the difference between the OBi2xx series and OBi3xx series ATAs is that the OBi3xx series does not support Google Voice.
Also, the OBi2xx series is discontinued.
https://www.obitalk.com/info/products/obi212

perhaps two separate adapters are better


You know your physical setup and needs better than I do.
I would not use two separate ATAs for two separate FPL accounts. For me that would just be wasting electricity.

Any other issues with two FPL numbers I should be aware of


Unless you're forced to use voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060 due to a SIP ALG (router, gateway, or hub) issue for incoming calls, I would not use the same FPL Proxy Server (voip.freephoneline.ca, voip2.freephoneline.ca, or voip4.freephoneline.ca:6060) for both FPL lines to help reduce the likelihood of becoming temporarily IP banned. Also make sure to not use the same local SIP Port or X_UserAgentPort (in Obihai ATAs) for both FPL lines since some routers may become confused, for lack of a better word that doesn't come to mind at the moment.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:8680EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Adding a second account

Postby streetcore » 03/24/2022

Thanks very much for your detailed response. A lot of it went over my head, but I'll take some time to read it over a few times and also to do more research. It would be great if I can use the OBI200 for two FPL numbers, but how would outgoing calls work if there's only one phone? Is there a way to choose which number to use? Won't I have to make an outgoing call every 90 days with each number to keep each account active?

Thanks again.
streetcore
Quiet One
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 11/19/2012
Location: Canada
SIP Device Name: OBihai OBi200
Firmware Version: 3.1.1 (Build: 5463EX
ISP Name: Cogeco (Cable)
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6, Windows 8
Router: D-Link DIR-615

Re: Adding a second account

Postby Liptonbrisk » 03/24/2022

streetcore wrote:how would outgoing calls work if there's only one phone? Is there a way to choose which number to use?


Yes.

**1 + outbound phone number sends call out through SP1 Service
**2 + outbound phone number sends call out through SP2 Service
**3 + outbound phone number sends call out through SP3 Service
**4 + outbound phone number sends call out through SP4 Service

You can change the outbound prefixes to whatever you want, but those are the defaults.

You can make any SP your PrimaryLine.
Physical Interfaces-->Phone Port-->PrimaryLine

You don't have to dial **x, where x is a number between 1 and 4, for your PrimaryLine.
The outbound prefix isn't required for PrimaryLine.

Incoming calls ring differently for each SP. They are defined first by the Ring Profile (A or B):
Voice Services --> SPx Service -->X_RingProfile (A or B is selected).
This corresponds with Ring Settings--Ring Profile (A or B)
And then the specific incoming ring for the SP is selected at Voice Services --> SPx Service --> X_DefaultRing.
So, you'll know which FPL number is being called based on the ring pattern.




Won't I have to make an outgoing call every 90 days with each number to keep each account active?


To ensure world credits aren't deducted, if you have any, you should make an outbound call every 60 days.
https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... ld-Credits.
If you don't have World Credits, there's nothing to deduct; that link wouldn't apply to you.


Otherwise, no. FPL accounts aren't deleted due to inactivity for ported numbers or VoIP unlock keys.
https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... t-deleted-

"Accounts will not be deleted due to inactivity if they have one of the following:

1. Available World Credits
2. A number Ported to Fongo from another carrier.
3. You have purchased a Voip Unlock Key
"




You would need to use a different email address to create a new FPL account, pay $99.95+tax for a new VoIP Unlock key, and pay an additional $25+tax to port in a number.
Only one FPL number is allowed per email address.

You would use the PDF guide located at the bottom of the first post in this thread to install FPL on an unused SP in your OBi200: https://forum.fongo.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18805.
If you've installed your original FPL VoIP unlock key on SP1, and if SP2 is unused, everywhere the guide mentions ITSP Profile A, you would use ITSP Profile B instead.
Additionally, If you've installed your original FPL VoIP unlock key on SP1, and if SP2 is unused, everywhere the guide mentions SP1 Service, you would use SP2 Service instead.

You would also create a new local DNS record under Parameter Name 2 on page 15 (instead of using the first entry). And I would not choose the exact same voipyourchoice.freephoneline.ca as you did for first entry.

When you reach page 28, for step 10C, don't use the exact same random number for X_UserAgentPort that you chose for your first VoIP Unlock key .
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:8680EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Adding a second account

Postby streetcore » 04/24/2022

Hi again. I got distracted with other things and haven't made a decision yet about adding a second account. I was thinking today that if given a choice I'd rather keep our existing home phone number and give up the number that is currently assigned to freephoneline. Would it be possible to port the home phone number to fpl so that it would replace the current fpl number?

Thanks.
streetcore
Quiet One
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 11/19/2012
Location: Canada
SIP Device Name: OBihai OBi200
Firmware Version: 3.1.1 (Build: 5463EX
ISP Name: Cogeco (Cable)
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6, Windows 8
Router: D-Link DIR-615

Re: Adding a second account

Postby Liptonbrisk » 04/24/2022

streetcore wrote: Would it be possible to port the home phone number to fpl so that it would replace the current fpl number?


Yes, you can provided the number is associated with one of these locations: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/arti ... go-network.

The porting fee is $25+tax.

Please visit https://support.freephoneline.ca/hc/en- ... r-porting-.

Note that your home phone service will be cancelled automatically when your number has been ported, provided that's your only phone number with your current provider on that account.
Finally, you will need to update AuthUserName in your ATA (or at Obitalk.com depending on which method you use to make changes) to reflect your new SIP Username (shown when logging in at https://www.freephoneline.ca/showSipSettings) after porting has been completed. Your SIP Username will change after porting has been completed.
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:8680EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Adding a second account

Postby streetcore » 04/24/2022

That's great. Our city is on the supported locations list, so I will probably go that route. Thanks again.
streetcore
Quiet One
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 11/19/2012
Location: Canada
SIP Device Name: OBihai OBi200
Firmware Version: 3.1.1 (Build: 5463EX
ISP Name: Cogeco (Cable)
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6, Windows 8
Router: D-Link DIR-615

Re: Adding a second account

Postby Liptonbrisk » 04/25/2022

You’re welcome!
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:8680EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin

Re: Adding a second account

Postby streetcore » 05/20/2022

My number porting was completed today and everything seems to be working fine after updating my SIP Username as you described. So what happens to my previous FPL number? Is it deactivated now?

Thanks very much for all your help!
streetcore
Quiet One
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 11/19/2012
Location: Canada
SIP Device Name: OBihai OBi200
Firmware Version: 3.1.1 (Build: 5463EX
ISP Name: Cogeco (Cable)
Computer OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6, Windows 8
Router: D-Link DIR-615

Re: Adding a second account

Postby Liptonbrisk » 05/20/2022

The previous Freephoneline number is no longer assigned to you. It's gone back into a pool of available Fibernetics numbers that can be assigned to others.
Fibernetics is the CLEC (and parent company) for Freephoneline and Fongo.

I'm glad porting was successful. You're welcome!
Please do not send me emails; I do not work for nor represent Freephoneline or Fongo. Post questions on the forums so that others may learn from responses or assist you. Thank you. If you have an issue with your account or have a billing issue, submit a ticket here: https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. Visit http://status.fongo.com/ to check FPL/Fongo service status. Freephoneline setup guides can be found at viewforum.php?f=15.
User avatar
Liptonbrisk
Technical Support
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 04/26/2010
SIP Device Name: OBi202
Firmware Version: 3.2.2 (Build:8680EX)
ISP Name: Cable
Computer OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro
Router: Asuswrt-Merlin


Return to Community Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests